Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 07:52 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default LCDguy's NAS - Updated 12/02/2009

I figured i would move my thread from builds to Worklogs.

I am planning on build a new NAS box and i wanted everyone's opinon on the workability of the hardware i am putting into this.

Case - Antec Atlas
Mobo - M2A-VM
Ram - G.Skill F2-6400CL 5D-4GBPQ
CPU - AMD 64 X2 6200+ 65NM
HDD - WD 1TB Black x4
Raid - Areca ARC-1210 4 port PCI-E x8
Optical Drive - LG DVD Burner

I think everything seems fine but my only worry is will the raid card work in the sole X16 graphics port. that is really the only linchpin.

So i have managed to get some pictures taken. Here they are and a bit of an update on the build

First off i have changed the raid card to a 3ware 9690SA-4i SAS/SATA card.

The parts i have recieved thus far are as follows.

Asus P5Q Pro
G.Skill 4GB PC2-6400 DDR2 Ram
3Ware sff8087 to 4x sata breakout cable
Intel Core 2 Duo E7400
LG DVDROM
Antec Atlas Server case with 500w antec PSU

i am still waiting on

4x 750GB Samsung F1 RAID Drives
Xigmatek HSF
3Ware 9690SA-4i Raid Card
2x 92mm Noctua Fans.

Without further ado here are the pictures.

First up is the ram. I really like g.skill and have had really good sucess sofar i have around 6 sticks of it kicking around.





The plain jane dvdrom, you might be asking why i didn't get a dvd burner. honestly it wasn't necesarry. Besides when you spending $800 on a raid card and 4 hdd. every little bit helps :)




next up is the all important breakout cable since my raid card doesn't have any sata ports on it only a single 36 pin sff 8087 sas connector. This guy is really cool.




Intel core 2 duo e7400. You might think that is over kill but keep in mind that this nas will also be transcoding HD content to stream to my ps3 so the more power the better.




The p5Q Pro, this is probably one of asus's best selling motherboards period. I already have one and it has been rock solid. Not to mention it got me free shipping for my 30lb antec case :).




hmm Sata cables' i don't think i will be needing those :)




And finally the antec case. Let me just say a couple things about this case.

1. it is very short not much shorter than a desktop case. Which makes it ideal for my implentation.

2. The thumbscrews on the back of the side panel are rivted to the panel. Very nice.

how ever there are some drawbacks. Firstly to remove the drives you need to remove the front bezel and then the fan cage. This is pretty effortless since it's all push tabs and thumb screws. Anyway enough of my blabbing. Time for more pictures.

PS - As you can see all of my mods need teh sniff of approval from my "supervisor" Glitch :)

















Anyway since i don't have the HSF yet (IMHO the intel one is pure garbage) i am not going to start assemballying this beast until i get at a minimum my next shipment. Who knows maybe i will get my raid card on the same day. Anyway ciao for now.

UPDATE - 04/02/2009

Well the purolator man commeth and delivered the rest of my stuff. I will take pics tonight of the remaining parts and the build. Hopefully (depending how tired i am) i might be able to get some benchmark results.

UPDATE - 14/02/2009

Well i got my typhoon GX on friday and it is byfar one of the coolest LCD modules i have ever used. Here are some pictures of the unit being installed.







The unit looks much more stream lined than the photo dipict since i used the flash it light up the IR sensor.

and here is a link to the video file. See if you can notice my tribute to HWC in the video.

__________________
and now for something completely different


Last edited by lcdguy; February 14, 2009 at 06:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 08:13 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
PS - As you can see all of my mods need teh sniff of approval from my "supervisor" Glitch :)
Love the pet shots, as expected ofcourse any proper build must meet the strictest standards of scent.

Looks like its going to be a pretty slick build LCDguy, looking forward to new pics.

Regards,

EE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 08:18 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Yup, unfortunately i have to lock her away when i am working on open computers as she loves to climb inside open cases.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 08:44 AM
kingnubian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 304
Default

WoW! That's a lots of juice just for a NAS. Looks like it will also make a great general purpose server as well.

BTW, Great pics.
__________________
GOD Is Good
________________________________________

Intel i7-2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Asus Sabertooth Z77
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z (1866MhZ CAS9)
NZXT Kraken X60 CPU Cooler
2x Sandisk Extreme 240GB SSD (RAID 0)
Seagate 7200.12 500gig HD
Galaxy GTX660Ti 3GB
LG DVDR
NZXT Phantom 630 Case
Antec TruPower New 750W Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 09:25 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingnubian View Post
WoW! That's a lots of juice just for a NAS. Looks like it will also make a great general purpose server as well.

BTW, Great pics.
Ya it's a bit overkill for a nas. But it is also transcoding hidef content for my ps3. I was going to orignally use an amd system but the half decent motherboards for amd are way over the pirce of the p5q pro. Plus they didn't come with free shipping. Thanks for the comment the photos. I wasn't to pleased my self as some came out fuzzy. I think the next time around i'll use a wider angle lens.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 10:20 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

doesn't your ps3 just get the files from the folder?
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 10:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Regina, Sask.
Posts: 40
Default

I think this is a good thread for many - as storage is getting cheaper and HTPC needs are on the rise.


Can you also post what software you will using:

- O/S
- Transcoding software for PS3 (I assume mkv's?)
- etc....


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 10:36 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia View Post
doesn't your ps3 just get the files from the folder?
Actually the ps3 can't directly access say a windows share. you still need to server the content up with a upnp/dlna type media streamer such as media player 11, tversity, etc. How ever media player 11 doesn't support transcoding or mkv files, and tvversity has alot of overhead. As a result i am using ps3mediaserver. it's extremely light weight, opensource :), multiplatform (windows, linux, osx) and works extremely well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shftup View Post
I think this is a good thread for many - as storage is getting cheaper and HTPC needs are on the rise.


Can you also post what software you will using:

- O/S
- Transcoding software for PS3 (I assume mkv's?)
- etc....


Thanks
OS - This really depends on your hardware. If i were using the onboard raid controllers then i would only use linux/windows if doing a raid 0, 1, jbod. If you were using a hardware raid card such as 3ware, areca, lsi logic, etc. Then i would go with either windows server or linux / bsd.

For this project, and for simplicty sake (and because i'm cheap) i am using a 64bit version of vista ultimate i got through work. Linux would work just as well with my 3ware card does work in linux / bsd it can be a pain to see and sometimes requires a kernel rebuild.

Transcoding Software - i am using a package called ps3mediaserver (PS3 Media Server)

It works extremely well, i have almost no configuration (except the media directories) i have tested it with raw dvd rips, mkv's, avi's etc. It works excellent. I have also set it to just pass the multichannel audio directly to my ps3 which then passes it to my AVR. I haven't noticed any hiccups or anything.

If anyone is interested in this type of project my best advice is invest in a hardware raid card. This comes from someone who has created a nas before based on onboard raid. And while it works if a drive fails it is likely your data will be fubared. With hardware raid. Even if the raid card dies. Aslong as you replace it with the same raid card with the same firmware it should be relatively painless. Not to mention the performance gains.

Also if you wan't future proofing invesnt in a SAS/SATA raid card instead of a SATA Raid card (eg: 3ware 9690SA vs 9650SE). The reason is that with a SAS expander in theory you can connect up to 128HDD to a raid card. Now that's ALOT of space.

Another side note i should mention is that while Samsung drives don't have the greatest track record the F1 RAID editions are probably the best option as those drives are rated for 24/7 operation and come with a 7 year warranty. Having said that later in the year seagate has annouced the next generation of their HDD including a 2.0TB model whith in addition to SATA2 speeds is also SAS 2.0 compliant :D

Anyway i should get back to work. I will post more stuff later tonight (probably aroun 1am ish.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 08:33 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default Update - 04/02/2009

Well i am installing the OS as we speak :D. I am thinking of playing with the idea of installing a small SSD (64GB) for the os so i am not using the array for software just pure storage. This would also allow me to mroe thoroughly benchmark the card.

Well where to begin. I think what i will do instead of explaining each picture i will get the boring text out of the way first and post the pictures afterwards.

let's see where to begin. well the case is a bit small. I definitely wouldn't want to cram more in there then i alread have managed. (ok, maybe an SSD and a BBU but that's it.)

The hardware assembally was rather un eventful. Except for that extreme hateful clip mounting system intel has come up with. I swear if i ever meet the bozo that thought this one up i am doing to hospitalize. Personally think all of those god forsaken clip system should be shot and only back plates with screws should be used. It took me 20 minutes to put the damn thing on. Anyway enough of my side rant.

Every else went in ok. I hid the cables as much as possible. Oh and this thing is EXTREMELY quiet. I mean if i am sitting 2ft away i can't hear it. I love it.

As far as the mobo seeing the raid card. that work flawlessly out of the box. And as soon as i configured an array my bios saw it right away as a bootable volume.

i am still waiting for windows to finish installing so my inital benchies will have to wait until later tonight.

Anyway here are some more of those long sought after piccies. And in case your wondering i locked my cat away so there are no piccies of her getting in the way







































































I'll post my results from HDTACH and IOMETER. but they will only be read speeds.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 08:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Regina, Sask.
Posts: 40
Default

Looks good thus far - Luv the all the pics - every step....

also, i read up on the ps3mediaserver - seems very interesting. so if i understand correctly - this goes on the server -> point the PS3 to that volume, and boom - the server transcodes any format to the PS3?

I was also looking at WHS - for a home storage, web server, blah blah - essentially something that is easy to manage without a telnet session or be friendly like WHS, unraid or something like that. I only need redundancy for 100GB (like pics, docs, etc...not movies)

I plan to do some upgrading in the couple of month and need to build myselft a new mATX rig, a SFF Mini ITX HTPC, and ATX server/Nas.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lcdguy's Folding Farm :) lcdguy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 32 November 20, 2008 04:40 PM
LCDGUY's new toy lcdguy HTPC Systems & Software 2 November 13, 2008 06:56 PM
LCDGUY's new toy lcdguy Off Topic 14 July 24, 2008 11:12 AM
MarcusFoX's FS Thread. Updated Daily. MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 5 June 3, 2008 12:29 PM
lcdguy's Watercooling Projectlog lcdguy Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 41 July 16, 2007 04:47 PM