Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2009, 04:48 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,151
Default

thats going to cost an arm and a leg.. and a nut!
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2009, 09:01 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

I tend to watch alot of TV.
That with ISOs of most of my CD/DVDs (not movies/music, but applications/games/etc) to keep'em safe it takes up ALOT of room

And I do hosting as well, but those are remote. I have a couple of Xeon equiv Q6600s in the field.


And it's not nearly as shocking as one might think.
I worked it out and it's only about $0.12-15 per GB for the infrastructure. Drives are going for about the same price.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 01:02 AM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

Wow, I checked out the case and everything, but I have one question; why not get more if it's so damn cheap per GB? =D
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One

Last edited by ImmaPC; February 1, 2009 at 01:03 AM. Reason: Hadda fix some F-in' typos =D
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 03:20 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Geez, and I thought I was downloading too much...geez. CD and DVD backups do take up a lot of room though. Not 61TB though lol. That's more than I'll ever have a use for in my lifetime.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 03:46 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmaPC View Post
Wow, I checked out the case and everything, but I have one question; why not get more if it's so damn cheap per GB? =D
While the per GB cost is actually quite reasonable, you have to fork over ALOT of dough for the case (which has been as high as $1600) and multiple HDDs.


I gotta wait for decent pricing on 1TB Blacks before buying more. Even a $10 difference could mean an extra 2 HDDs.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 04:09 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,151
Default

Edit: NVM, forgot about the raid 6 part
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 07:18 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by death_hawk View Post
Oh and it's not all pr0n. Only about 3TB is.
Is your name Randy and have you ever owned a Dell?


YouTube - Dell Redux: Porno
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 07:22 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,564

My System Specs

Default

Hehehehe..... that's a classic.... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 08:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 143
Default

I still dont get it... to me it just looks like gluttony...

But whatever, its not for me to decide, you can spend your money however you want.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2009, 06:09 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojangles View Post
Geez, and I thought I was downloading too much...geez. CD and DVD backups do take up a lot of room though. Not 61TB though lol. That's more than I'll ever have a use for in my lifetime.
Wait twenty years.....then it will seem laughable.

I remeber when I got my first 8MB HDD.

"HUGE hard drive!!! I will NEVER use all that space!!!!!" I said.

Yeah....riiiiiiiiiiiight.........
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] WTB single phase change Finch Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 14, 2009 03:10 PM
Final Build, Paid For, Now The Waiting Begins...! mlauzon New Builds 20 December 26, 2008 11:42 PM
Thermaltake Phase change! Wankerfx Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 March 6, 2008 02:31 PM
The Office Arms Race begins Again SKYMTL Off Topic 2 April 19, 2007 11:28 AM
phase change coolers MousePotato Water Cooling 11 March 29, 2007 07:57 PM