Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 11:55 AM
S_G's Avatar
S_G S_G is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, home of the Canadiens
Posts: 830
Default

That's a nice offer, thanks! If I run into any problems, I'll be sure to let you know. Now, off to Home Depot to get some stuff.

Do you guys have anything to say about the Danger Den CPX-PRO? I'm looking to get a pair of very quiet pumps, and this seems to be the top contender aside from Eheims, which I'd like to avoid due to their size and that they'll look out of place in this mod. However, if I could find a pair of Eheims 1046 pumps with those elusive Aquacomputer Full Metal Jackets, I'd definitely look into them.
__________________
HTPC: MSI Z77A-G43 + i5-3570k@4.6 + 16GB DDR3-1600 + GTX 580 + X-Fi Platinum on water
Work: 13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB
Old Workstation: X7DWA-N : 2x Xeon E5330 Quads @ 3GHz + 24GB FB-DIMM DDR2-800 on water
1x 8800 Ultra --> Sony GDM-FW900 + LVM-37w3se // HT Omega Striker ~ (optical) Pioneer SE-DIR800C ~+ SE-DHP800 / HD 280 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 01:26 PM
S_G's Avatar
S_G S_G is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, home of the Canadiens
Posts: 830
Default

Picked up a crapload of stuff from Home Depot and Canadian Tire. Haven't gotten around to actually taking out those rivets yet.

Currently testing the motherboard. My BSEL modded CPUs correctly boot up at 1.4625V at 2.66GHz, now to figure out what the PLL on this thing is.

Looks like one of my precious 4GB FB-DIMMs is bad. It only registers 2GB instead of 4GB (despite correctly recognizing itself as a 4GB stick). So, once it pairs up with another stick, it knocks them both down to 2GB, so I lose 4GB total.

RAM setup is like this now:
4+2+4+2+2+2+2+2 = 20
instead of
4+2+4+2+4+2+4+2 = 24

Gotta RMA that stick. However, 20 is enough for me to allocate 15.5GB to install GTA IV entirely to the RAM disk. Why? Because I can.
__________________
HTPC: MSI Z77A-G43 + i5-3570k@4.6 + 16GB DDR3-1600 + GTX 580 + X-Fi Platinum on water
Work: 13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB
Old Workstation: X7DWA-N : 2x Xeon E5330 Quads @ 3GHz + 24GB FB-DIMM DDR2-800 on water
1x 8800 Ultra --> Sony GDM-FW900 + LVM-37w3se // HT Omega Striker ~ (optical) Pioneer SE-DIR800C ~+ SE-DHP800 / HD 280 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 03:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 179
Default

Where did you buy the case? I've been looking for one but neither NCIX or directcanada have em in stock.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 03:40 PM
S_G's Avatar
S_G S_G is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, home of the Canadiens
Posts: 830
Default

I got the last one NCIX had in stock. I don't know if any other stores in Canada actually carry it anymore. You can get one from Newegg.ca (ABS Black Pearl) for about $470 shipped, or off eBay (Tagan Black Pearl) for about $400 shipped after taxes (if you clear the UPS package yourself).
__________________
HTPC: MSI Z77A-G43 + i5-3570k@4.6 + 16GB DDR3-1600 + GTX 580 + X-Fi Platinum on water
Work: 13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB
Old Workstation: X7DWA-N : 2x Xeon E5330 Quads @ 3GHz + 24GB FB-DIMM DDR2-800 on water
1x 8800 Ultra --> Sony GDM-FW900 + LVM-37w3se // HT Omega Striker ~ (optical) Pioneer SE-DIR800C ~+ SE-DHP800 / HD 280 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2009, 05:21 PM
S_G's Avatar
S_G S_G is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, home of the Canadiens
Posts: 830
Default

Well, all done. I've finished taking the entire case apart. Now I know why when lowfat did his build, he just sent the whole thing in. I have a feeling that putting it back together is going to be a lot harder than taking it apart. Maybe I'll just take the case to Home Depot or wherever and fit all the screws on the spot, that way I won't have to keep making trips back and forth to find the right sizes. In the end though, I will still probably have to invest in a riveting tool or whatever you call it. Two of the rivets are located directly between two case halves, where they meet on a little sheet. I don't think I'll be able to find a screw that will fit there while maintaining the ability to put the case back together.

Mind the mess.



I screwed up and accidentally scratched both 5.25" panels while drilling through:


Eventually though, it was all gone. Believe me, I felt bad for doing this to such a nice case:


And of course, none of this could be accomplished without the help of my good friend shop-vac


Next step is to cut 3/4" holes for tubing. I'll probably cut a couple more than I need, so that I have some expansion possibility in the future -- to mount a second rad on the back, and also to remove the HDD racks for a rad as well, although I'll probably never get rid of those racks.
__________________
HTPC: MSI Z77A-G43 + i5-3570k@4.6 + 16GB DDR3-1600 + GTX 580 + X-Fi Platinum on water
Work: 13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB
Old Workstation: X7DWA-N : 2x Xeon E5330 Quads @ 3GHz + 24GB FB-DIMM DDR2-800 on water
1x 8800 Ultra --> Sony GDM-FW900 + LVM-37w3se // HT Omega Striker ~ (optical) Pioneer SE-DIR800C ~+ SE-DHP800 / HD 280 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2009, 05:31 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

So I take it wasn't that difficult to remove the rivets? And do invest in a rivet tool and Alu. rivets. It's really worth it.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2009, 06:31 PM
S_G's Avatar
S_G S_G is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, home of the Canadiens
Posts: 830
Default

Yup, thanks for the tip. Using the straight end of a drill bit made it so much easier to remove the heads. If any metal remained, I just pulled it off with some needle nose pliers. I wonder... Should I just re-rivet all the holes, or nut+bolt as many of them as I can?
__________________
HTPC: MSI Z77A-G43 + i5-3570k@4.6 + 16GB DDR3-1600 + GTX 580 + X-Fi Platinum on water
Work: 13" MacBook Pro Retina 512GB
Old Workstation: X7DWA-N : 2x Xeon E5330 Quads @ 3GHz + 24GB FB-DIMM DDR2-800 on water
1x 8800 Ultra --> Sony GDM-FW900 + LVM-37w3se // HT Omega Striker ~ (optical) Pioneer SE-DIR800C ~+ SE-DHP800 / HD 280 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2009, 06:53 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Rivet... forget screws and nuts.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project 5749 Dashock HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 November 29, 2008 12:52 AM
Project: P190 MpG Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 44 May 7, 2008 08:47 PM
Project: A+ Cardboard box with DSL Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 33 April 14, 2008 08:40 PM
Project "Oscar the Grouch" - the $500 gaming PC project. Jmac Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 3 January 5, 2008 12:08 AM
Project Darkside BALISTX Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 44 October 14, 2007 06:44 PM