Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 18, 2009, 05:46 PM
Top Prospect

Default WaterChiller project

today i was sitting in front of my pc with nothing to do. I was so bored that i was thinking about projects to occupy my self. i am that kind of guy that needs to build and invent something few times a year or else i will get so bored that i will die... i then turned my head and saw my window air conditioner sitting there waiting for summer. Then the word WaterChiller came up in my head. My pc is already watercooled so basicaly the only parts i will need to buy is a insulated ice canister (the thing you put ice and beer in), some antifreeze and an insulation kit for the motherboard.

Now this is the first time i am going subzero. i have read alot and alot about phase change and subzero cooling so i know what to expect. But i am still a noob. Every comments, tips, advice will be appreciated.

I took my 5000btu a/c unit appart and modded it a little bit to give the lowest temps possible. I disconnected the thermostat removed the Evap fan and removed some plastic restricting air flow for the condensor. Here are some pics:

compressor

so for now this is it i need to buy some more stuff before continuing. i will post during progress.
Old January 18, 2009, 09:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

LOL...these phase change rigs are so redneck-like. Taking apart an A/C to cool a computer. Who'da thought?
Old January 18, 2009, 11:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

I don't think phase-change is redneck, I think it's a rather innovative and out-of-the-box idea to use what you would normally use in a fridge or an A/C to cool a computer. Whood've thought?
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One
Old January 19, 2009, 12:06 AM
MVP
F@H

holy.....
good luck :|
Old January 19, 2009, 05:27 AM
Top Prospect