Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 24, 2008, 10:08 PM
Rookie

Default Coolermaster 690

Well the new case came in today. Unfortunately I didnt have a camera handy for when it arrived at work. I have been buggin the wife for a new system for about 3 years so you can understand that I was too eager to wait to dig in. I have already stripped it down to the bare chassis and begun sanding the side panels. I should have pics up before I start drilling out all the rivets for painting in the morning. I know its not complete but I just couldnt wait to get started lol. Anyways, its just painting the chassis a matte black to start and it is going to be slow going on the rest of the build as the agreement with the wife is the money we save from me quitting smoking(starting today) goes to the new system so bear with me(and any foul moods) For the record, this is my first build for myself and my first mods so bring on the feedback and suggestions
Old November 24, 2008, 10:33 PM
Top Prospect

quitting smoking
Old November 24, 2008, 10:38 PM
Rookie

Hmm...thats exactly what my wife said...with hands over the head and everything...weird...lol! Anyways, so what Ive done is just roughed everything up(side panels, expansion slot covers and 5.25 to 3.5 drive conversion bracket with 150 grit sandpaper........smoothed out that horrible spackle finish on the sidepanels(forearms are ow btw). Bare metal is some spots but for the most part where the was paint....still there. As I will be using a self etching primer anyways I have heard that isnt too much of an issue. At this point I am just roughing everything up that I can access as I would HATE to wake the kids with the drill. Any suggestions at this point?
Old November 25, 2008, 08:32 AM
Rookie