Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2007, 04:14 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

To get this puppy running I just the video card. I have a Maxtor DiamondMax9 60GB 5400rpm IDE that I can use for now. I'm interested in getting that PC Radeon X1600XT that is being sold for $80 in the Buy/Trade section. I have pmed him, just waiting for a response back.

The wedding is on 7th.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 05:22 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Well with the wedding over the build has commenced. I have made a change. I purchased the Athlon 64 3200 Venice with really good E6 stepping. I have gone ahead put the system together (Didn't get a change to take pics of the build in process). So I haven't OCed it yet and the reason for this is, is due a bad hard drive. When I went to format the drive it would not format, so I have to wait till Wednesday to buy a new hard drive. I'm getting the popular 320GB Seagate SATAII drive for $85 @ PC Cyber.

My first OC I'm going to strive for will be a moddest 2.5. I was surfing DIY and found a build very similar to mine (BIOS is a different version). I will try the settings I have found and see what I can do. Wish me luck

Here is example settings I plan on using

==========
DIY-Street Forums - View Single Post - Socket 939 Overclocking Database

Genie BIOS Settings:


FSB Bus Frequency - 250
LDT/FSB Frequency Ration - 4
CPU/FSB Frequency Ratio - x 10.0
PCI eXpress Frequency - 100Mhz

CPU VID StartUp Value - 1.375

CPU VID Control - 1.375v
CPU VID Special Control - Avove VID * 110%
LDT Voltage Control - 1.20v
Chip Set Voltage Control - 1.60v
DRAM Voltage Control - 2.70v


DRAM Configuration Settings:

DRAM Frequency Set - 200 (DRAM/FSB:1/01)
Command Per Clock (CPC) - Enable
CAS Latency Control (Tcl) - 2.5
RAS# to CAS# delay (Trcd) - 04 Bus Clocks
Min RAS# active time (Tras) - 07 Bus Clocks
Row precharge time (Trp) - 03 Bus Clocks
Row Cycle time (Trc) - 07 Bus Clocks
Row refresh cyc time (Trfc) - 14 Bus Clocks
Row to Row delay (Trrd) - 03 Bus Clocks
Write recovery time (Twr) - 03 Bus Clocks
Write to Read delay (Twtr) - 02 Bus Clocks
Read to Write delay (Trwt) - 03 Bus Clocks
Refresh Period (Tref) - 3120 Cycles
Write CAS Latency (Twcl) - 01
DRAM Bank Interleave - Enabled



DQS Skew Control - Increase
DQS Skew Value - 0
DRAM Drive Strength - Level 5
DRAM Data Drive Strength - Level 1
Max Async Latency - 07.0 ns
DRAM Response Time - Fast *** May only be 5/10 BIOS ? ***
Read Preamble Time - 05.0 ns
IdleCycle Limit - 16 Cycles
Dynamic Counter - Disable
R/W Queue Bypass - 16 x
Bypass Max - 07 x
32 Byte Granularity - Disable(8 Bursts)



==========
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com

Last edited by BALISTX; August 4, 2007 at 05:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 05:47 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

No sir it didn't like those settings. I was able to get it to post but after the post it rebooted. Back to the drawing board. Any suggestions?
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 06:52 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,525

My System Specs

Default

Did you try the other mem slots?

Do these timings work @ stock?

The DIY database is a great resource, but keep in mind that mem manufacturers change the chips from time to time while keeping the same part #.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 06:56 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,525

My System Specs

Default

Not sure if you've tried this yet, but best way to go if those timings work @ stock would be to use a divider to keep your mem as close to stock as possible in order to find the upper limits of your cpu, and then try bumping the mem up slowly.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 08:23 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

I tried the other memory slots and it did the same thing. Right now I have them back in the orange slots.

Everything in the BIOS for the DRAM config is set back to Auto. Should I leave at that or try the stock timings of 2-3-2-5?

If I want to run the FSB @ 250 what should I set my LDT/FSB and my DRAM/FSB Ratios to?

Should I leave all my other settings stock, included voltage - currently @ 1.40v and my PCI-E Freq @ 105MHz?

I'm going to see if I can take some pics of my BIOS screen settings to show what they are currently at.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 09:15 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Why did you switch out the opty BALISTX?
I think the 144 with the greater cache would do you better.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 09:34 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Why did you switch out the opty BALISTX?
I think the 144 with the greater cache would do you better.
Wanted to see what I could get out of 3200. I still have the Opty. If I blow up the 3200 I'll still have the Opty to fall back on. I'd rather blow up the cheaper of the two.

Here are my BIOS settings. I could not take a pics, can't find the digital camera. So I wrote down all the settings and options for them. I got writer's cramp.

Current BIOS Specs (BIOS 0704-bta)
FSB - 200 (increases in incriments of 5)
LDT/FSB - Auto (x1.0 - 5.0 in incriments of x1)
CPU FSB Ratio (multiplier) - 10.0x
PCI-E Frequency - 105MHz
K8 Cool n' Quiet - disabled
CPU VID Startup Volume - Startup (0.800v - 1.55v in incriments of .25)
CPU Core Voltage - 1.40v
LDT Bus Voltage - 1.22V
Chipset Voltage - 1.51v
DRAM 2.5v Voltage - 2.66v
CPU VID Control - Auto (0.800v - 1.55v in incriments of .25)
LDT Voltage Control - Auto (1.20v - 1.50v in incriments of .10)
Chipset Voltage Control - 1.50v (1.50v - .1.80v in increments of .10)
DRAM Voltage Control - 2.60v (2.50v - 3.20v in increments of .10)

DRAM Configuration
DRAM Frequency Set (MHz) - Auto
- 100 (1/02)
- 120 (3/05)
- 133 (2/03)
- 140 (7/10)
- 150 (3/04)
- 166 (5/06)
- 180 (9/10)
- 200 (1/01)
command Per Clock (CPC) - Auto (Enable or Disable)
Tcl - Auto (1.5 - 4.5)
Trcd - Auto (00 - 7)
Tms - Auto (00 - 15)
Trp - Auto (00 - 7)
Trc - Auto (07 - 22)
Trfc - Auto (09 - 24)
Trrd - Auto (00 - 7)
Twr - Auto (02 - 03)
Twtr- Auto (01 - 02)
Twrt - Auto (01 - 02)
Trct - Auto (1553 / 2064 / 2592 / 3120 / 3632 / 4128 / 4612 / 0064 / 0776 / 1032 / 1296 / 1560 / 1816 / 2064 / 2336 / 0032 / 0388 / 0516 / 0648 / 0780 / 0908 / 1032 / 1168 / 0016 / 2048 / 2056 / 3072 / 3684 / 4196 / 4708 / 028
Twcl - Auto (01 - 08)
DRAM Bank Interleave - Enable
DQS Skew Control - AUto (Increase or Decrease)
DQS Skew Value - 0 (Min 0 - Max 255)
DRAM Drive Strength - Auto (Level 1 - 8)
DRAM Data Stength - Auto (Level 1 - 3)
Max Async Latency - Auto (0.00ns - 15ns in increments of .10)
DRAM Response Time - Normal (Fast)
Read Preamble Time - Auto (2 - 9.5 in increments of .5)
Idle Cycle Limit - Auto (080 - 256)
Dynamic Counter - Disable (Auto or Enable)
R/W Queue Bypass - AUto (02 - 10)
Bypass Max - Auto (00 - 7x)
32 Byte Granularity - Auto (Disable [8 Bursts] or Enable [4 Bursts]
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 10:10 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,525

My System Specs

Default

I'd go for cas 3-3-3 to start and select a divider of 3/4 as you bring up the FSB to 250 and see if your cpu is capable of doing it (240+ with semprons was almost guaranteed, but I'm not sure about the 3200s).

Keep your HT between 800 & 1000 (should be fine with the X4 you had before).

It sounds like you're jumping right in with the OCDB settings.... those are only a guideline, there is no guarantee you'll be able to run at them... the venice core doesn't have the best mem controller so you may find you need to back off on some of the settings.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2007, 10:14 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
DRAM Voltage Control - 2.60v
Been awhile since I had my ocz, is yours the v.1 o rv.2? by your volts I would say v.1.
My ocz v.2 loved the volts. but anyways like sswilson said drop your ram to stock settings, I dont like "auto" i enter them manually, then drop your cpu volts to stock shoot for say 2250 so 250fsb. use a memory divider to set your ram @ 200, multi @ 9. 2250 should be well within your range for stock volts, if for some reason it isn't enough volts, it should be fine maybe a error @5-6 hours of prime but you should be able to boot and work in windows, but you can always give it another little goose in volts.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project: P190 MpG Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 44 May 7, 2008 08:47 PM
My First Ever Water Cooling Project zlojack Water Cooling 37 February 6, 2008 08:10 AM
Large project James_8970 HTPC Systems & Software 6 January 9, 2008 09:44 PM
Project "Oscar the Grouch" - the $500 gaming PC project. Jmac Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 3 January 5, 2008 12:08 AM
Project Darkside BALISTX Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 44 October 14, 2007 06:44 PM