Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 07:31 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Damn thats pricey!!

NCIX.com - Buy Coolermaster ATCS840 ATX Tower Case Black 6X5.25 6X3.5INT 1X3.5EXT Front USB Firewire eSATA Audio - RC-840-KKN1-GP In Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 08:09 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Nice case- I wonder if the inside top holds the thick radiators, or just the thin ones. The specs say it will hold a 360mm rad- not many cases can mount those internally.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 08:36 AM
Snafu's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
HAF Baked Backside:

Tried to get a couple angles showing the gap between side panel...

Farcry From Goal! :rtfm:
I found the same thing with the HAF. With all the room on the board side it would have been nice if they gave the backside an extra 0.25-0.5" for cables.

Have you tried installing any water cooling inside?
__________________
Newest system: Intel E8400, Gigabyte EP35-DS3P, OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers, Seagate 3GB/s HDD, etc.
Others are kicking around the house.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 01:04 PM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snafu View Post
I found the same thing with the HAF. With all the room on the board side it would have been nice if they gave the backside an extra 0.25-0.5" for cables.

Have you tried installing any water cooling inside?
Nope, strickly air here.

One thing to note with the new ATCS840 is that there is no flare on the side panels which adds a good 1/2" more space. So it would be even tighter to pack cables.

I think the HAF actually gives a lot of space for this, I just have way too many cables stuffed back there right now. It'll be a lot less cramped once I get in there and clean it up a bit, and actually use a few more of the cables.

.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 01:34 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,392
Default

Ok guys....as a SNEAK PEAK......:)

I have in my greedy hands a CM ATCS 840 and will start doing a review of it for HWC sometime next week.....soooo in the near future we will be able to provide you with good detailed shots of it and a good 30 minute read (just like the HAF ).

When it goes live open up a second window, pull up my HAF review and compare and contrast to your hearts content!
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 04:50 PM
Snafu's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
I think the HAF actually gives a lot of space for this, I just have way too many cables stuffed back there right now. It'll be a lot less cramped once I get in there and clean it up a bit, and actually use a few more of the cables.
Thanks. I have a CM power supply and don't use a lot of the cables. This means I have to hide them until I can use them. Perhaps it is my fault for not having more drives running - lol. It is roomy as most cases go but a little more room would be nice.

I have installed a 2x120mm rad inside at the top without any issues. I also have a 1x120mm rad installed at the bottom vent - I wished I could have installed it on the rear wall but the tab for mounting a PSU up top interferes.
__________________
Newest system: Intel E8400, Gigabyte EP35-DS3P, OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers, Seagate 3GB/s HDD, etc.
Others are kicking around the house.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 06:25 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,530

My System Specs

Default



That is the stupidly thick 120.2 up in the top with fans mounted under it inside the 932's roof. No clearance issues at all.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2008, 10:31 PM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Ok guys....as a SNEAK PEAK......:)

I have in my greedy hands a CM ATCS 840 and will start doing a review of it for HWC sometime next week.....soooo in the near future we will be able to provide you with good detailed shots of it and a good 30 minute read (just like the HAF ).

When it goes live open up a second window, pull up my HAF review and compare and contrast to your hearts content!
Woowoo! Looking forward to that!

.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 09:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 38
Default

yeah there is a lot of space at the top of the case. Would there be any concerns about mounting a rad above the motherboard? I usually find if there are ever leaks/problems with water, it usually starts with the rad or the pump.
__________________
__________________
CPU: E8600 (3.33 GHz)
MOTHERBOARD: ASUS Maximus Extreme
VIDEO:
ASUS Radeon 4870X2 (2 x 750 MHz, 2 x 1GB DDR5)
MEMORY: 8GB RAM (4 x 2 GB DDR3-1333MHz 7-7-7-20)
DISK: Seagate Barracuda 1TB (2 x 500GB)
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 780e for CPU
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 760i for GPU
WATER BLOCK CPU: Tt LGA775 Copper Block (3/8" fittings)
WATER BLOCK GPU: Danger Den 4870X2 Copper Block (1/2" fittings)
WATER BLOCK CHIPSET: ASUS Onboard Copper Block
OS: VISTA 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 06:09 AM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by confusion View Post
yeah there is a lot of space at the top of the case. Would there be any concerns about mounting a rad above the motherboard? I usually find if there are ever leaks/problems with water, it usually starts with the rad or the pump.
Since I am an air purist, I'll let someone else with more experience answer that.

.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes