Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 10:12 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Thanks for the link zlojack, and yes it is very true.. Now if they had standoffs on most of their newer FC water blocks, they would be hardly any shorting issues.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 11:16 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

I just installed the Ek FC 4870 blocks.

First off I rested the block on the card to see how the paste/pads spread. Then I tightened the GPU core screws- all the remaining screws were put in enough to bite only. Also had to use the pads as a sandwich (2 pads layered) to get good contact with the aluminum sink-I wouldn't of felt comfortable tightening that back piece down with 1 pads thickness!!!!

Also used electrical tape on the block where I thought there was a risk of contact, plus insulated washers on every screw. Maybe overkill but it works. The EK 4870 FC blocks need standoffs in about 6 places as its so easy to over-tighten, I guess its the same story for the X2 block, Id just tighten the screws around the GPU cores on that block and be extra careful with the others..
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 12:39 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Well thanks to zlojack for linking that link, it has some info on it, infact one of them even emailed Eddy, and the reply was a little obvious off course, but he promised they are going to work out a solution that works..

Magic, if possible get us some pics please.. Also I was thinking, what if we used those tiny motherboard stand-offs, screw in them in the card, and then the screws from the back of the pcb.. I wonder if it would to dangerous to do something like that.. Maybe also using a bunch of washers stacked up together to form some height, maybe that works..

Sorry Dr for hijacking your thread.. I soo love hijacking thread tho :P
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 01:00 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Where's Chuck Norris when you need him.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 01:14 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

lol, sorry Dr. Hopefully you'll find some of these discussions helpful, good luck with the install.

Not sure about Chuck Norris but I heard Jean- Claude Van Damme hangs around here.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.

Last edited by magictorch; October 20, 2008 at 01:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2008, 01:35 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
Well, seem's my barb situation has been sorted out. Thank's to the member's who offered.

ooooky, seem's it isn't sorted out, but it appears to be my fault this time. I should have just bloody well reordered the things and ate $15 shipping.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 06:15 AM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

Dr. what's the verdict?
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 08:16 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Still waiting for barbs, shipped UPS ground last week.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 02:03 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

What's this, I got some work done. Should have got 90deg barbs for the RAD. Pic's and some other stuff to follow... (on my craptop at the moment)

Looks like I'll have to mount the rad as such:



got to find more screws to mount other fan guard (more to protect fins than for looks)

Pump goes here



Res will ptobably go here



And I'll route the tubing from the rad through here



Of course when I fired my system back up after test fitting everything, my XFi started screaming like a banshee, even though nothing even came near it
__________________
All's well that's Haswell

Last edited by Dr_BenD_over; October 28, 2008 at 02:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 02:29 PM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

Awesome! ha Craptop pretty much lol.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes