Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 04:09 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,236

My System Specs

Default Highspeed bottom mount to WC topmount mod

I was getting a bit tired of dealing with my current bottom mount highspeed techstation... NCIX.com - Buy Highspeed PC Large Original Tech Station FAST-ACCESS E-ATX Computer Case Black - Tech_StationLRG-BLACK In Canada. so off I go to NCIX to order a new topmount... NCIX.com - Buy Highspeed PC Standard Top Deck Tech Station Fast Access ATX Computer Case Black - TD-Tech_StationSTD-BLACK In Canada. .

As luck would have it, rather than dropping in price one week after I got new gear (my usual curse... :) ), they simply ran out of stock. :(

While bemoaning (fancy word for complaining....) the fact that my new testbed case was on backorder, somebody suggested that I should just order a case with a motherboard tray and mod that.... well says I... maybe I'll find a use for that old lian-li PC60 case I've got kicking around. :) (Should have thought of it myself, but it was too obvious.... :) ).

While I'm at it, I'm going to swap out the H2O 220 kit for an Apogee GT / chipset cooling, and slap a pile of heatsinks onto every possible hotspot on my Dark. :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 04:28 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Looks like a fun mod!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 04:32 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,236

My System Specs

Default

This is actually a very simple mod, but is a good example of why we should never throw anything out.... :)


Here's the motherboard tray out of my old lian-li case. The case top has been cut up (was planning on a top mount rad w/ plexi window on top to view inside but never finished) and it uses 80mm fans so I wasn't sure what to do with it.....


Bottom mount techstation with everything removed, and fans moved from the bottom to the top. One thing I did notice was how great the deck material was to work with. I've heard many a complaint about the high price of "a few pieces of plastic" when purchasing this case, but, this stuff is great for drilling and tapping screws in the holes you've drilled. You wouldn't be able to do that with lower grade material.


Motherboard tray mounted to the top... all I did was drill 4 holes through the tray into the top deck, and secured them with self tapping screws.


Starting on the WC.... I was concerned that using just 2 screws to secure the rad might give way over time, so I built up a third mount to secure to the side column.


Rad secured to the case... 2 screws up top, and 2 on the post seems to make it rock solid. I know I'm giving up a bit of airflow having it installed that way, but it is going to be a push/pull, and mounting it completely up top would have made the case fairly top heavy.

That's it for today.... I've got the motherboard / pump / tubing left for tomorrow.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 04:49 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,502
Default

Awesome !

I recognize that mobo tray.

I love my Lian-Li's.....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 05:18 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

Remember that my HSPC station used to hold 2 rigs, the lower setup being water-cooled... and I concur that the plastic is great to work with.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 06:00 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Hey sswilson, I was almost like joking about using a mobo tray in another thread, not saying you did what I said, but nice to see you seeing that post (I probably inspired me :P)... But that looks neat, nice way of mounting the rad..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 06:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,236

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
Hey sswilson, I was almost like joking about using a mobo tray in another thread, not saying you did what I said, but nice to see you seeing that post (I probably inspired me :P)... But that looks neat, nice way of mounting the rad..
Heh.... after you posted that, I looked down at my feet and there sat my old lian-li not doing anything..... :)


Ok, I've got a question that I think I know the answer to, but I'd be happier if somebody could confirm it for me.......


When using the swiftech res/rads, am I correct in assuming that the top level of fluid in the rad is considered the res WRT feeding the pump?

I've always tried to keep the pump at least close to the same level as the barbs of the rad, but as you can see above I'd like to mount the pump to the bottom of the top rack which would put the inlet about half-way up the rad.

I suspect that the water level in the tubing would naturally raise to the same level as the top level of the rad, but I'm not completely sure.... anybody out there that can put my mind at ease??? :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 08:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

looks awsome,better than what one can buy..great job :)
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2008, 04:48 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
When using the swiftech res/rads, am I correct in assuming that the top level of fluid in the rad is considered the res WRT feeding the pump?

...


I suspect that the water level in the tubing would naturally raise to the same level as the top level of the rad, but I'm not completely sure.... anybody out there that can put my mind at ease??? :)
That would be correct - communicating vessels.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2008, 07:12 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default

I really like the look of the tech station builds, all the better that you could move the MB tray over. Looking forward to the updates to get some ideas.

I think watercooled tech-station is where I'm going to go after I've worn this old case out. Can barely get two loops in it.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
highspeed , mod , modding , tech station , water cooling

Thread Tools
Display Modes