Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 05:36 PM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default Iamcanadian7's water build

Well my parts finally arrived today and just finished unpacking them. Unfortunatly NCIX was short on 2 of my fans, so push/pull will have to wait till next week.


Pics of the gear:







Opened up my MCP655 and saw that the dial was at 2 out of the box so I got a flathead to adjust it to 5. SNAP!.......oh shit. Luckily thanks to needles and the power of google I managed to take the back off and adjust it wth a phillips.

So as of now I'm trying to decide where to mount my rad/pump/res. I've decided on the front of my case but am still wondering how everything will work where it is. I've heard that the res should be the highest thing in the loop. I've also heard it only needs to be higher than the pump. Whice one is it?

As of now im going to start tearing down my tower, I'll be updating this as I go from my laptop. Stay tuned!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 05:53 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Woot Fun!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 06:16 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

As long as the reservoir is the only opening the in the loop, it only has to be higher than the pump. Which reminds me - I can't remember if Feser rads have a bleeder screw, but if they do, give yours a little tightening before filling the system.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 06:48 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Great to see another watercooling build.

You should post some pics of the case too for any ideas. Just put the Res above the pump and thats it, also the pump intake needs to above the outlet if you mount it onto the side of the case.

One thing though, those Bitspower barbs are very shiny, almost too shiny, they don't have any Aluminum on the outer surface do they? I ordered some myself and I dont want any galvanisation in my loop!
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 07:00 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

The BP fittings aren't Al, I know that much. Can't remember if they're plated with SS, chrome, or nickel, but they're safe. Would've been reamed ten times over on XS if they weren't.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 07:02 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Good to know MPG
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 07:46 PM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default

Alright good to know about the whole pump thing. That seemed to be the most logical but I wanted to make sure.

Yes the Feser rads do have a drain port on the bottom, I'll give that a good tighten before I fill her up. I'm pretty sure NCIX listed the Bitspower barbs as stainless steel, altough I'm positive they're not aluminum.

So far I have modified my case a bit with the dremel I bought last night (50 bucks at crappy tire, can't beat that). I cut out a square from my motherboard tray for easy block swapping and removed the aluminum trays that enclose the hard drives.

Hole in the mobo tray


Middle hard drive cover removed (3 drives will be in the bottom, hence why I left that one)


Aluminum really eats my cut off wheels!



OK, so this is what I've planned as to how I will mount my rad. Red is rad, blue is fan controller and green is cd drive.


For the res/pump, this is what I'm thinking. Red is pump area and blue is res area.


Any other suggestions on how I could run this would be nice. Some input from you experts on how this loop should function when it's all together would be great. I plan on using some packing foam I'll grab from work to keep the rad in place. I don't really feel like fabing up some brackets.

I'm off to mount the cpu block and toss back a few more Keith's.


Oh, almost forgot, Pump>Rad>Cpu>Res>Pump correcto?

Last edited by Iamcanadian7; September 25, 2008 at 08:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 04:49 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Your loop sequence is fine, but not securing the rad is not. You'd better take the time to properly attach it to the case - full of liquid, it is rather heavy and I wouldn't want a rad moving around inside my case.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 06:59 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Your loop sequence is fine, but not securing the rad is not. You'd better take the time to properly attach it to the case - full of liquid, it is rather heavy and I wouldn't want a rad moving around inside my case.

I second that,

a rad is heavy, and if it falls you have chances of doing major damages.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 07:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

I third Charlie's suggestions, getting the rad to be properly mounted is one of "MUST DO" steps in water cooling, it can ruin somethings... The front also looks quite huge, if you can get it to mount in the front, probably that also works.

I believe that pure water cooling is done internally, you can mount anything externally, but internal is where the phun is!!..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes