Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 06:00 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
99% of people in internet forums will tell you the completely WRONG information about power supplies since they all need 1000W+ to make themselves feel more important...........
I 100% agree. I think it is so funny that when ever you mention dual cards they automatically say you need 850 watts.

The problem with that PSU is that it doesn't have enough connectors. You need 2 8 pin and 2 six pin PCIe connectors.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 06:26 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default

My PC is happily running with this 400W unit and the only reason I am going to a larger (680W BFG) is the HD4870 I have coming (and it's twin brother too if I ever manage to get me a 24" LCD).
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 06:26 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
My PC is happily running with this 400W unit and the only reason I am going to a larger (680W BFG) is the HD4870 I have coming (and it's twin brother too if I ever manage to get me a 24" LCD).
I simply stated that a good 700w would be good for him :P I always like a bit of "headroom" personally.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 06:49 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Okay, mods can delete this thread. I decided against selling my PSU since after much convincing from my brother, I'm not going to CF.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 08:36 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Yeah it could do the trick. The 620 is a potent PSU. Obviously if you have the cash to go bigger, may as well, but the HX should do the trick with your setup, not much breathing room though.
Hey I said it would work! Just not a lot of breathing room (as Cptn Vortex said). Depends on how much else he wants to run off of it in the future.
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 08:56 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

^^^^Glad yer sticking with yer psu!!
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2008, 09:26 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

HX620 is more than enough. The dual 4870 plus CPU is going to take up 450W tops. It just makes you feel less insecure if you get a 1kW PSU for something as minor as this.
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 04:54 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default

Well why not going CF?
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 09:42 PM
van's Avatar
van van is offline
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
The problem with that PSU is that it doesn't have enough connectors. You need 2 8 pin and 2 six pin PCIe connectors.
All new HX620 PSU now come with 8PIN connectors. And those who have an HX620 and didn't get them, you can easily contact Corsair and they will ship them out to you for free.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes