Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2015, 12:50 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: langley (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,190
Default DOCSIS 3.0 Modem (used or new)

edit: found one... thank you for reading...


"approved DOCSIS 3.0 modem with more than 8 channels" is what my isp can accept...

so i am looking for

Thomson DCM475 [hopefully 40cdn + shipping]
or another non-router modem with 8x4 channels or better


if you have that kind of modem... please pm me with your price...

thanks for reading...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, XFX 750W, i7 4770k, supreme hf, GA-Z87X-OC Force, 16gb gskill ripjaws 2133mhz , xfx hd6950 CF. 128gb intel 520, wd blue and toshiba 1tb, mcp355 + EK-XRES , 2x ar697, 2x PXM360, 12x AC F12 fans, 12 x shroud, STT 123W fan filter. 2442.88CDN
OLD: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.

Last edited by CTA; November 7, 2015 at 05:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2015, 06:13 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
Allstar
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 661

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTA View Post
"approved DOCSIS 3.0 modem with more than 8 channels" is what my isp can accept...

so i am looking for

Thomson DCM475 [hopefully 40cdn + shipping]
or another non-router modem with 8x4 channels or better


if you have that kind of modem... please pm me with your price...

thanks for reading...
I imagine your ISP is a 3rd party provider. Seeing as how you live in BC I would imagine they use the Shaw infrastructure.... soooooooo basically only the DCM475 is approved unless you can find a Huawei MT130U somewhere...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2015, 07:12 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: langley (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,190
Default

the whole cable infrastructure is not belong to shaw... government, shaw and other companies...

they give me a list

Quote:
Modems for Speeds of 30 Mbps or above:
Thomson DCM475
Huawei MT130U
Hitron Technologies CGN
mt130u seems unreliability and rarer... if its really really really good deal then i will grab one...
cgn is modem-router that i am not looking for...

if you have one to sell then please lets me know... i will contact them if the modem is approved... but as far as they said only 8x4 or better modem is acceptable...



ps. thanks for a nice bump tho...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, XFX 750W, i7 4770k, supreme hf, GA-Z87X-OC Force, 16gb gskill ripjaws 2133mhz , xfx hd6950 CF. 128gb intel 520, wd blue and toshiba 1tb, mcp355 + EK-XRES , 2x ar697, 2x PXM360, 12x AC F12 fans, 12 x shroud, STT 123W fan filter. 2442.88CDN
OLD: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2015, 07:27 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
Allstar
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 661

My System Specs

Default

Yeah honestly the Hitron CGN is next to impossible to find one and the Huawei while the interface for it is much better doesn't beat the reliability of the DCM475/DCM476 :) I still have my DCM475 plugged in and works fantastic. I remember seeing a few DCM475 on sale on Kijiji have you tried out that place yet?

Because if not the "cheapest" one on Ebay is 50$

Thomson Modem DCM475 | eBay
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2015, 08:31 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: langley (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,190
Default

i did check kijiji at both location here and ottawa.. i will ask my brother to buy and ship...

atm, i would like to try here first...

i dont want to use the ebay...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, XFX 750W, i7 4770k, supreme hf, GA-Z87X-OC Force, 16gb gskill ripjaws 2133mhz , xfx hd6950 CF. 128gb intel 520, wd blue and toshiba 1tb, mcp355 + EK-XRES , 2x ar697, 2x PXM360, 12x AC F12 fans, 12 x shroud, STT 123W fan filter. 2442.88CDN
OLD: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best wireless card for Cisco DPC3825 DOCSIS 3.0 Gateway Amarthfea Networking 4 June 17, 2013 04:02 PM
[WTB] 56k Modem dante1 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 February 9, 2011 08:20 PM
need modem rapmaster Networking 2 December 27, 2009 09:20 PM
New Modem Zmanno999 Networking 3 November 17, 2009 01:54 PM
[WTB] DSL Modem elec999 Buy/Sell & Trade 2 January 22, 2009 07:25 PM