Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 08:44 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,612

My System Specs

Default Higher end LGA775 Quad cores

I'm looking at options to upgrade some aged office PC's. They currently run e8400 CPU's, 4GB RAM, 250GB SSD's and Quaddro 1700's. We've had little to no issues so far, and they cover the majority of our office work without problem. However, I find that the CPU's tend to bog down a bit when I'm running heavy spreadsheets and/or large MS Project files.

There's no need for us to completely upgrade the systems, but I'm hoping that I can come up with 1 or more higher end 'Q' CPU's that I can drop in. Mostly I care about my own CPU, but if I can find multiples for the right price, then I'm interested.

Let em know if you have anything lying around you're willing to part with for a decent price. Trying to avoid the great unknown of eBay.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 09:20 AM
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 28
Default

it would cost a bit more money but you could pull off just doing cheap h67 atx platforms with i3 cpus
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 09:36 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Cptn Vortex Stuff! 2 Complete Systems, CPU's! HDDs!, and More!

He's got 2 X6800's in there for cheap.

EDIT: I've mixed up the X6800 and the QX6800. The X's are dual core.

Last edited by SugarJ; Yesterday at 12:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 12:17 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,612

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solace View Post
it would cost a bit more money but you could pull off just doing cheap h67 atx platforms with i3 cpus
In addition to the extra parts money, the time/labor cost to go this route makes it much less feasible. Swapping out just a CPU takes minutes, so it's total burden to the company is minimal.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Cptn Vortex Stuff! 2 Complete Systems, CPU's! HDDs!, and More!

He's got 2 X6800's in there for cheap.

EDIT: I've mixed up the X6800 and the QX6800. The X's are dual core.
Yeah I already saw that thread. If they were Q's, I'd be speaking to him about them. But the X6800's are actually a bit slower than the e8400's.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 12:33 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

I may have something (just one), I'll need to check when I get home, hopefully I'll remember.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 02:06 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,612

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I may have something (just one), I'll need to check when I get home, hopefully I'll remember.
That would be awesome. Please let me know if you do.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 03:10 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Yea sorry, I wish they were Q's as well lol!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xeon Quad Cores fishingfanatic HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 April 11, 2013 08:09 AM
why do you still buy quad core cpus on LGA775 socket? MARSTG CPU's and Motherboards 6 June 26, 2011 03:06 PM
Quad Core - 2 cores x6 multiplier? Taker123 CPU's and Motherboards 3 December 16, 2009 12:29 PM
[WTB] LGA775 Quad Core doup93 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 December 16, 2009 06:24 AM
Quad Cores are official: Core 2 Extreme QX6700 UNESCO CPU's and Motherboards 2 November 5, 2006 08:49 PM