Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2012, 03:29 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,596

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by igot6strings View Post
WTB:
Wanting to upgrade my sons computer a bit. Hes only 4 so all he needs is a smooth running minecraft for the time being. Currently has an Athlon X2 64 4600, 2gb ddr2 667mhz and a Radeon 6450. I'd be looking for a Athlon X2 64 5800ish cpu, a video card up to a 5770/6770 or the nvidia counterpart. Also want to find him as much ram as possible so 4x2gb of DDR2 800mhz.

I'll consider anything better than whats in there now.
pm details/price. ty
Sorry I have nothing to offer, but what motherboard do you have? It may be able to take a newer processor that would be easier to get your hands on.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 07:16 AM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

Hey, its a Asus M2N-VM DVI.
ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS M2N-VM DVI

I've seen several 5600 and 5800s on ebay for $20-35 but they're mostly in Asia but I'd prefer to buy something a little closer to home. I see theres all sorts of different cpus compatible with this board on the page so I'm not sure what is the best and easy enough to find. I'm open to suggestions of course. Not really looking to spend a fortune on this either.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 09:54 AM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 468
Default

My experience with the old x2 6000, 5600 and 3600 it would be a waste of $20-30 going up from a 4600.

More $$ on ram no point, 4GB would be fine unless your 4 yr old requires 8GB for specific programs.

I've watched this thread for a couple days now and figured I'll put my 2 cents in, try to aim for cheap 6770/6850/7770, solid psu to move to another build (if you don't already have one) and an ssd.

Where the mobo falls down is that the mobo doesn't support the x3 and x4 propus cores some am2 boards do, x3 450 or x4 640 would be a worth while upgrade.

Sorry I have nothing for you but free advice.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 10:25 AM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

Cool. Thanks for the advice.
He only has 2gb in there now, it was 4gb but 2gb failed sometime while it was sitting in the basement collecting dust.
I'd be happy if he had 4gb in there again.
A 6850 would be overkilll for his needs. I think a 6770 or something similar would be best and also not require upgrading the psu.
It actually runs minecraft fine at lower settings with his system oc'd to 3.0ghz.
I'm hoping to be able to upgrade atleast 2 out of 3 of the parts I'm asking for. If I can do that then I think his system will run just fine until he gets my wifes q8200 as a hand me down when I upgrade hers.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2012, 12:31 PM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

still looking for the above or similar.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2012, 03:17 AM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

nothing yet. bumpage.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 01:33 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: mtl
Posts: 106
Default

i have 4*2gb stick gskill lying around... however I just moved so I will need to locate them.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 10:55 AM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

sure thing. pm me when you're unpacked and give me some details/price please. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 11:25 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,188

My System Specs

Default

You know, I'm wondering if you may be better off just changing platform altogether. AMD has some very affordable Athlon II platforms...

MSI 760GM-P23 - $54.99
Kingston 2x4GB 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM - $34.99
AMD Athlon II X4 640 Quad Core Processor - $69.99

Total: $159.97 + taxes/delivery.

You'd get a pretty major bump in performance over your old X2, and all for less money than you can spend on a new APU. You could then look for a used video card on the forums, or even go for:

ASUS Radeon HD7750 V2 - $112.99
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2012, 11:36 AM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

I'm only looking to spend $50-60 in total to upgrade this as he'll get my wifes q8200 system in a few months when I upgrade hers. Her new system will most likely end up being something from AMD though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Super cheap GPU for DIII and DDR3 2x4GB Soullessone21 Buy/Sell & Trade 7 September 30, 2012 08:15 PM
Vengeance 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9 foredown Price Check 2 March 20, 2012 06:09 PM
[WTB] Ripjaw-x 1600cl7 2x4gb jibz Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 25, 2011 01:08 PM
[WTB] 8GB ( 2x4GB ) DDR2 RAM kit oblisk Buy/Sell & Trade 1 September 13, 2011 08:56 PM
2x4GB... Am I missing something? Spblue RAM 7 February 1, 2010 11:11 PM