Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2011, 07:23 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Question MotherBoard

Ok heres what i have a xeon 3110 chip and a p35 neo2 MB I am looking for a better MB i could use that would help me improve my system !!
That being said i do not have much cash :(
but if you guys have any thiing that would be better i would really like to upgrade my system..
I also have a gtx 275 vid card i could trade for as well if it could save me any moneys ?

Please let me know if any of you have a better older MB just collecting dust i could use?
Again as much as i hate to say it money is super tight right now ....
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2011, 09:21 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Only 775 spare I have is older then your current mobo. ASUS commando, plus I would need fairly good money, this old relic is a record holder still.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2011, 03:36 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

hey thanks for the offer but thats 2 strikes for me 1 lots of cash and two it is older..
Again thankyou for your reply:)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2011, 04:59 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

I am pretty sure I got a Asus P5B kicking around with the I/O plate. Shoot me an offer if you want.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2011, 09:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

commando an antic lol sell it while you can get somethin for it

and so is the p5b compared to the p35

the p35 is actually faster than the p45 and the 965
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2011, 09:11 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

P5B series boards are and always will be a quality board.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2011, 06:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
P5B series boards are and always will be a quality board.

yes i had one
just sold it to terrence for cheap was verry solid board

but you cant compare it to a p35
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2011, 12:49 PM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 358
Default

Totally off topic but I agree with Adzsask the Commando is in a league of its own. There are only a few boards that can claim to clock better for single or dual cores (not quads though), none that I know of in P35, except maybe you could make a case for Gigabytes DQ6 or DFI UT P35-TR2 but not that I've generally seen (although for proof of a P35 on air over 5Ghz here Although why the crazy guy had the Vcore up to 1.76v on air is beyond me). EP45-UD3P but that is in P45 or the Rampage series but the Formula/Extreme are x48. The overclocking records for Cedar Mills and C2D don't lie in that account.

Although for the OP I don't think an upgrade of board will help you too terribly much. The board you have isn't too shabby and you are better off finding a 3ghz quad (although those are still pretty pricey) if you want a good dollar/performance ratio increase. I fear you won't see much increase with a motherboard change, even a very good motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2011, 12:42 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

ok what would improve my speed a new chip with this msi p 35 neo board or what ?????????
also i have this oc to 4 gig stable
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2011, 01:15 PM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 358
Default

It really depends on what you are doing with the board. You will find almost no improvement even with a Q9650 if you aren't running programs that can use the multiple threads. Internet/Email/Downloading/Word Processing etc are all single threaded so there is no difference between a dual core chip running 4 Ghz and a quad core running 4 Ghz, using the same CPU core. Your Xeon 3110 runs a Wolfdale core which was pretty top of the line for 775. If you are running programs that can take advantage of the multiple threads, video encoding/3d modelling/some of the newer games you will see an improvement from dual to quad core.

If you want improvement running single threaded you will have to move to a new platform. 4Ghz is pretty close, or close enough, to the limit for 775 that chips can run daily (with exception of those with very good chips or under water cooling or better) so to see improvement in your day to day tasks you would likely have to move to Socket 1156 or Sandybridge (1155).

In my opinion you will see almost no improvement by changing boards and if you do it will only be because you were able to increase your daily overclock and then I would suspect it won't be by more than 5% which is nearly undetectable.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard and Cpu help! Hagge CPU's and Motherboards 12 November 6, 2011 01:10 PM
[WTB] S775 Motherboard and I7 920/930 cpu + x58 motherboard Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 6 May 22, 2010 10:23 PM
[WTB] LGA 775 motherboard flightsimnerd Buy/Sell & Trade 3 January 16, 2010 05:20 PM
[WTB] AMD 939 Motherboard FiveNines Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 25, 2009 06:07 PM
LGA 775 Motherboard HermesĄ˘ CPU's and Motherboards 7 November 28, 2008 07:34 AM