Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 05:18 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default Cheap wired router and short ethernet cables

So, my folding rig does not play nice with the wireless card I have. It's also kind of hard to upload WU's without internet, so here I am. I need a cheap router, so long as it works and doesn't melt under high loads (AKA torrenting). I only need a wired one, but a wireless would do assuming the price is still low.

To go with it, I am also looking for some short Cat5e cables, preferably under 6 feet. I only need two of them for the aforementioned router.

And in a huge longshot, I have a D-Link DI-624 here that works, but I'm missing the power adapter. If anybody happens to have one then I'm game for that as well. Back of the router says 7.5V, 1A. And being completely electrically dumb, there's also a diagram for the connector I'll try to describe, negative on the outside and positive on the inside.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 05:46 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

I'll hit you up on the PM later. I should have 10 or so PAtch Cables Cat 5e.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 05:48 PM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

Hey lpfan:
This guy here has everything you need as far as replacement power adapters is concerned.
SAYAL Electronics - Your Source For New And Surplus Electronic Components - We Buy Your Surplus!
I had numerous power adapters die on me and he always has what I need.
Oh and cheap too
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 05:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i have an old linksys wired router somewhere...dont make me take a picture for 10$ lol
!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 06:16 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
I'll hit you up on the PM later. I should have 10 or so PAtch Cables Cat 5e.

ST
I'll be waiting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by norfolk View Post
Hey lpfan:
This guy here has everything you need as far as replacement power adapters is concerned.
SAYAL Electronics - Your Source For New And Surplus Electronic Components - We Buy Your Surplus!
I had numerous power adapters die on me and he always has what I need.
Oh and cheap too
That site is making my mind melt. Too many numbers, categories, and lack of bright and colourful pictures for my slow self Although, I have no way to get to any of their stores.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
i have an old linksys wired router somewhere...dont make me take a picture for 10$ lol
!
If you can find it, give me a model number and we can talk.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 07:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

bfr11 or something. dont think of nothing but a simple router.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 07:24 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

i have a dlink ebr-2310 i got kickin around if you're interested, just pay shipping and a few bucks, lol
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 07:32 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

you need a router or you need a switch to plug to your actual router too add more ports ? like you plug 2 or 3 pc to the switch and 1 cable betwen the switch and the actual router ( because I have tons of switch here ) and any 7.5 volts with 1A or more will do , even if you find by ex. a 2A 7.5 it's ok as long at it have the 1A minimum
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 07:41 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

wait..wont it burn the unit if you plug in the 2a vs 1a adapter? or was it the other way around...hmm...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 07:46 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
wait..wont it burn the unit if you plug in the 2a vs 1a adapter? or was it the other way around...hmm...

no the PSU deliver only the Amps he need, 2A is the rating not the amps that go out. same as the computer PSU . a 1000 watts in a 386 is overkill but will not burn anything ( actually I thing psu have a minimum to operate was just a little bit pusshing with my exemple )
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a simple wired setup... mo' power Networking 10 February 3, 2009 01:00 AM
Modular vs Hard Wired enaberif Power Supplies 24 September 26, 2008 09:37 PM
Wired home network matsta31 Networking 12 September 17, 2008 01:24 PM