Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2009, 10:53 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,605
Default

Can you take a pic of the backplate? At this price I may be interested.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2009, 11:17 AM
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 31
Default

yeah will take soon. however, it's come to my attention that the backplate is supposed to have a 3pin port or something... this one doesn't. it only has 2 display ports, and one dvi.

the computer detects it as a v8700, i run v8700 drivers on it, and it looks VERY much like a v8700... but someone is pming me and insisting that it isn't if it doesnt have the 3pin thing.

just want to make this known, in case the person pming me is right and that this is only a 4870....with 2 display ports somehow...
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2009, 12:14 PM
Object X's Avatar
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie. Ontario
Posts: 43
Default

run GPUZ to get the skinny on the card. Or run evererst.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2009, 12:20 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

I think it would be great if the people could get a picture of the back of the card with the serial number (clearly readable and legible) and such... just my opinion though...could we get one of those?

From what you're saying too, it doesn't sound like you even know what the card is. There's always two display ports.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2009, 12:30 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojangles View Post
There's always two display ports.
No, there are two DisplayPort connectors, as well as a single DVI, on FireGl cards. Some forgo the second DP connector for HDMI.

Also, most cards have the stereo3D connector on the backplane, however, ATI have confirmed that early samples did not.


He doesn't know what the card is, becuase his differs slightly from the standard FireGL cards. For all intents and purposes, this is a FireGL card, but seem to lack the Stereo3D connector and has a different heatsink from the retail version. This is most likely OEM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2009, 12:35 PM
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 31
Default

oh it was detected as a v8700... so i just assumed it was. it's got 2 display ports, which is impossible if it was a 4870. i'll take a pic of the bottom and back asap. seems like there's no serial number though...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2009, 03:14 PM
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 31
Default

bump :) new pic
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2009, 09:23 AM
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 31
Default

buhmp
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2009, 10:32 AM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Honestly if someones wanting to do home renderings, this card would tear a CPU or gaming GPU appart... bump for that.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2009, 09:34 PM
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 31
Default

right.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: ATI All-In-Wonder card FrankyG Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 12, 2008 04:12 PM
ati 4gb quad graphics card? renoracer Rumor Mill 10 November 7, 2008 07:04 AM
if you plan on running Linux don't use an ATI card Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 May 8, 2008 01:46 PM
is it linux ati driver problem or the Card itself Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 March 15, 2008 07:10 PM
2nd ATI card not recognized? 3.0charlie Troubleshooting 0 January 26, 2008 07:17 PM