Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:11 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,654

My System Specs

Default

But use Post Reply, not Quick Reply. Then copy / paste the code in the IMG block in your reply.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:24 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default like this ?

like this?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:25 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Watercooling that board will a right pain in the ass. The pin pattern for the VRM portion (near the socket), coupled with the components, I don't think even a universal block would be able to fit there. Looks is a whole different issue, but from a performance point of view, I don't see watercooling the chipset providing any improvements for your setup.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:36 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Well now that you guys have educated me lol i understand that it would be a major pain as well as a waste of money !!!
So looks like i will be researching a new board but i want to stay with my current xeon chip ! what would you guys reccomand in the future?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:36 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,654

My System Specs

Default

@ Dave: yup, you got it.

As for wc'ing the chipset and board components... if you wish to push the chipset past 500Mhz, a block for the NB may be useful. But until then, just slap an Antec Spot Cool close to the NB block.

Board recommendations, based on what I know: Gigabyte P45-DS3L, hands down. Second would be the Asus P5E Deluxe, with a BIOS flashed to Rampage.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:40 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Hey John i have 2 spot cools blowing that way right now !!!
and i must say its nice and chilly in there :)
Right now i think i am pretty cool and will be even better once i get the new vid card in !
that being said i have a ozc ram cooler on my 4 gig of gskill!
how would i go about ocing my ram ?
the easiest way ? now remeber i know nothing about ocing ram!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:54 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,654

My System Specs

Default

2 spot cools will allow plenty of airflow, even at low speed.

Now, for the ram oc'ing. If you look at the screenshot you posted, and CPU-Z memory tab view, you will see that your ram is running at 444MHz (same as your CPU frequency). Your ram is stock 400MHz. So it is overclocked, with a 1:1 ratio to the CPU frequency. Can it go higher? Probably, with more volts (2.1V Vram max), and if you change the Ram multiplier (or divider, some boards have the opposite). You will either see ram ratios (2.0, 2.4, 2.6, 3.0, 4.0) - those are multipliers of the CPU frequency, at which the ram will run. If you see 1:1, 5:6, 11:12, 3:4, etc. those are dividers, and produce the same result.

Understand well every option of your BIOS before attempting oc'ing the ram further. And if you do, use Memtest86+ to verify that there are no errors with your new ram speed - resulting in a stable setup.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 07:59 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Ok on memtest , I just download that program and run it from the setup?
Or do i have to burn memtest to a dvd disk then boot from that disk?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 08:07 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,654

My System Specs

Default

Boot from disk. And test 6 is the real test.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2009, 08:10 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Ok got it i will do that and let ya know the results tomm :)
Thanks for all the help guys !!!! i really appreciate it alot!!!:)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X58 NB & SB waterblocks kruzn4evr Water Cooling 20 March 3, 2009 12:40 PM
dearth of lga1366 waterblocks Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 45 December 22, 2008 06:59 AM
FS: BNIB EK Waterblocks set for Asus board zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 1 November 20, 2008 07:23 AM
FT Swiftech GTX, 2x Fuzion GFX waterblocks for Water stuff. sheepdogexpress Buy/Sell & Trade 8 October 31, 2008 09:57 PM
EK Waterblocks in Canada? iv:xx Water Cooling 8 June 30, 2008 10:57 AM