Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 04:02 AM
Gunner86's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 89
Default LF-Cheap ATI video card that can output sound through HDMI.

My parents have an HP pavillion pc that has a pci-e slot and they want to be able to hook it up to their hdtv to watch movies, they have a 25ft hdmi cable. Now i need something that is really cheap , doesn't take much power and can output sound through HDMI.

Thanks

Gunner
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 05:45 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Do they have an amplifier, or are they using the speakers on the tv?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 06:00 AM
Gunner86's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 89
Default

Speakers on the tv
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 06:29 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I tried using my hdmi audio output using the spdif adapter that routes sound from the motherboard to my 260 GXT video card - the sound was terrible- I think that in general, your best option is to use another ouput for sound- I used a coaxial audio cable to run sound to my home theatre from the pc- My computer is a long way away from the TV but I found a ten foot digital coax cable- they're around if proxinity is an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 08:24 AM
dadzilla's Avatar
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Athabasca Alberta
Posts: 406
Default

__________________
I build, I game, I upgrade. I build, I game, I upgrade. I build.....

Last edited by dadzilla; November 2, 2008 at 12:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 08:27 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

You didn't like the $50 link I provided you on NCIX forums???? :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 09:40 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

I'd say one like this would work well:
NCIX.com - Buy Powercolor Radeon HD 3450 Fanless 600MHZ 256MB 800MHZ DDR2 PCI-E HDMI Video Card - AX3450 256MD2-H In Canada.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 09:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default


That's the one I linked to.... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 12:25 PM
Gunner86's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
That's the one I linked to.... :)

Yeah thanks for that i thought id check here first to see if i could get me something cheaper (it's for my parents so i don't want to pay to much) as for using a different cable for sound that is out of the question one cable is enough the tv is 20ft away from the computer.

Last edited by Gunner86; November 3, 2008 at 01:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2008, 05:19 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,502

My System Specs

Default

I have a Sapphire HD 3450 245MB fanless with everything included I'd sell for $40 shipped if you are interested.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes