Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 03:23 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default FS: Modded HD4850

Vcore modded to 1.35v, mem to 1.25v. bios to 760/1150. It is stable all day long at 820/1150. Ready for watercooling, add your block. The heatsinks, ram and VRM are expoxyed on. Comes with all accesories and original heatsink/fan.
SOLD

I bought a GTX 260 on Friday. Vmodded and watercooled it to the moon, don't need this now. Original intent was to xfire, I bought another 4850 and found out my mobo was only x4 lanes on the second pci-e slot and totally sucked at xfire.


Last edited by Squeetard; November 23, 2008 at 03:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 03:42 PM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

bump for an awesome card!

Good luck with the sale.

To bad about the slot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 01:32 PM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default

Off topic but a free bump... how hard it the GTX 260 to vmod? Can it be done with pencil or is solder the only solution?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 01:51 PM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 372
Default

i may be interested. just wondering how easy it was to volt mod it though, because i would eventually get a second i imagine. you still have the other 4850 as well?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 03:20 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Easy to volt mod. Look on the 'tech powerup' (makers of GPU-Z) forums. I returned the second card for full refund after trying for 2 days to get some xfire performance out of my board. Never touched the second card.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 03:22 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bojamijams View Post
Off topic but a free bump... how hard it the GTX 260 to vmod? Can it be done with pencil or is solder the only solution?

the gtx 260 can be done in the bios, beautiful eh? You use nibitor to edit your bios and flash it back on. I'm stable at 837/1674/1260. Without ramsinks on as yet.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 03:38 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

When you say "Vcore modded to 1.35v, mem to 1.25v" what exactly do you mean? Do you have a trimpot on there or a fixed resistor or penciled or what? Do you have an unlocked BIOS flashed?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 03:41 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Pencil mod, was the easiest. Stable for 2 months, I checked the voltages periodically. Grabbed an unlocked bios and changed the clock values (for the high performance 3d mode only)and flashed it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 03:44 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Ok seems like a good deal then other than the epoxy. It really makes it tough if your block doesnt fit or you want to air cool. I ruined cards in the past trying to get that stuff off, never again.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 04:02 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I had no luck with the thermal tape. Always had blocks falling off. Had one fall onto and kill my x-fi that was in the slot below.
I've removed them before with care, but it is pointless with the voltages and modded bios on this card.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes