Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > Buy/Sell & Trade

    



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 05:37 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 774

My System Specs

Default WTB: 500w+ PSU in Ottawa.

This is a long shot but we have a few Ottawa guys in here so i'm trying.

500w-600w to run a AMD 6000 = 8800GTS with some headroom.

I need that for this wednesday max, if I cant find anything i'll grab one at pccyber.

I browsed kijiji an dusedottawa also over the week-end with no replies.

Thanks.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 05:59 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 774

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the PM'S from outside but i'll just paste the reply I sent so you might understand a little better the wednesday night dealine thing...

Long story short, I'm building a computer out of spare/leftover parts for a buddy who's old computer blew up(almost litteraly, psu took everything out) a couple weeks ago.

I'll be using the wife's 450w PSU that is in her box and upgrade it at the same time for her 8800gts coming in(today hopefully).

He's coming over friday night for the week-end so I want to give me a day or 2 in case something goes wrong during the build, hence the wednesday night "deadline".

Thanks.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 07:50 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 745

My System Specs

Default

I live in Ottawa and the best I could do is a 400watt Sparkle/Forton powersupply. Just go to either PCcyber or OEMExpress.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 08:48 AM
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 24
Default

logisys 550w Power Supply Central Ottawa (inside greenbelt), Ottawa

Did you try this?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 08:52 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gambitz View Post
Yeah, no PCI-e connector. Thanks for checking.

I ended up picking up the New Corsair 400W PSU at PcCyber, 65$, 30a on the 12V rail, nicely constructed, quiet fan, i'm surprised and happy.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 09:02 AM
MVP
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyllz View Post
Yeah, no PCI-e connector. Thanks for checking.

I ended up picking up the New Corsair 400W PSU at PcCyber, 65$, 30a on the 12V rail, nicely constructed, quiet fan, i'm surprised and happy.
hmm i'd go to shoprbc.com way before going to pccyber. a couple decent ocz's on sale.
http://www.shoprbc.com/ca/shop/super...categoryId=179
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 10:04 AM
kevdriver's Avatar
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 2
Default

Skyllz, PC Cyber is always a great place to buy. The boys are usually very helpful.
__________________
Six Speeds Of Hardware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 10:23 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevdriver View Post
Skyllz, PC Cyber is always a great place to buy. The boys are usually very helpful.
I usually go there since it's on my way back from work, they dont have the greatest prices but I dont have to spend 10$ of gas to go somewhere else in traffic.

Now if only they would stop giving redbull to their staff so they would relax a little more...
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 11:00 AM
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 24
Default

Haha. That's true. Actually PCCYBER usually have good deals. Often better than NCIX and newegg.ca
The staff at Pccyber knows me by name. (Good for their business LOL).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 11:02 AM
Rookie
 
Recent iTrader Ratings
Period: 1 Month 6 Months 12 Months
Positive Positive 0 0 0
Neutral Neutral 0 0 0
Negative Negative 0 0 0
   
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 24
Default

Just curious, is 400 watts actually enough for your system? I dont think you got enough headroom for future upgrades...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes