Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2008, 09:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach, BC
Posts: 24
Default Need help finding a certain cable

I got a VGA cable that connects my xbox into my monitor but for my speakers i need the splitter cable that puts the audio on my xbox 360 because i dont want to keep unplugging the speakers from my computer into the 360 over and over again


can someone tell me what the cable is called?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2008, 02:17 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Shouldn't your mobo come with a Line-In jack? If you bought the Microsoft VGA cable for the xbox, it comes with an adapter where you can plug in the cable directly into the PC, and if your speakers are connected to your PC, then the audio should play directly from your PC. I think the Line-in jack is blue.

If you use Vista, then its a little more confusing. You have to either get Realtek audio drivers for your mobo, or use a program that records things from line-in and plays it back immediately. Though that method might give you a delay from what you hear and see.

The adapter: http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/7618/img00057cu.jpg (Left side of picture)

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2008, 03:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach, BC
Posts: 24
Default

Im talking about computer speakers and Xbox noise
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2008, 03:18 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,715

My System Specs

Default

It does not have to record, just has to be capable of pass through/play through/whatever. I know for a fact that there are small apps that specifically do just that for the Mac OS(like LineIn by Rogue Amoeba) and I would be willing to bet that there are small apps dedicated to this for Windows as well.

Last edited by MacJunky; July 10, 2008 at 03:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2008, 05:09 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,411

My System Specs

Default

If your computer is always on while you are X-Boxing you can use the line-in on your computer to input the Xbox audio through the computer's soundcard.

If you'd rather not be tied to your computer status (off or on) your best bet is to look for a switching box. The source should have what you are looking for, just match up with the correct cables (probably mini din to rcaX2 for the computer).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2008, 06:52 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Well, when I play on my xbox, I usually have my computer on, so yeah.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes