Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2007, 01:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
Default

I hear you pretty much always want to go with creative for gaming. If I was doing music editing or whatnot I would run a M-Audio card or maybe a turtle beach card.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2007, 04:26 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,502

My System Specs

Default

Creative cards are junk. Th ey sound like crap. Most new onboard solutions sound better. There are many better sound cards for good sound quality out for under $100. Even $40 on a Creative card is a waste of money. EAX is going the way of the Dodo as OPEN AL is the way of the future. Creative is gonna get EAX shoved up their ass by game designers since they want to make games for surround sound but not code it that way. Any soundcard with the last 2 C-Media chipsets will outright humiliate anything Creative ever made. Period.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2007, 04:37 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,247

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
Creative cards are junk. Th ey sound like crap. Most new onboard solutions sound better. There are many better sound cards for good sound quality out for under $100. Even $40 on a Creative card is a waste of money. EAX is going the way of the Dodo as OPEN AL is the way of the future. Creative is gonna get EAX shoved up their ass by game designers since they want to make games for surround sound but not code it that way. Any soundcard with the last 2 C-Media chipsets will outright humiliate anything Creative ever made. Period.
I think I read that exact same post @ EOCF. LOL
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2007, 02:02 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,247

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
Well, i guess i'm going to be the black sheep in the lot and not recommmend a creative card. Gaming aside you would be better off getting something from auzentech. Now while somthing like the x-meridian is probably out of your budget (around 160 bucks) the good ole x-mystique or x-plosion (when on sale) would defintely fall in the under $100 budget. The advantage of these cards is that while they may only support eax 2, they can rencode the input into a dd or DTS bitstream. This is espcially nice if you have a reciever or digital speakers that has a toslink fiber optic connection. I have owned both the x-mystique and x-meridian. Another thing that i don't think the creatives can do is my xmeridian can out put a multichannel signal at 192khz/24bit.

And if none of this sways you the drivers for the auzentech cards are easy and quick to install.

Just my 2 cents.
Looks like we might get the best of both worlds @ the end of the month.

http://www.auzentech.com/site/company/press.php
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2007, 11:05 AM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

C-media based cards would be a mistake right now because they won't work properly in Vista ever. That's why Auzentech is switching to Creative.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2007, 01:52 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

actually my x-meridian worked fine in vista RC1, RC2 and RTM
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2007, 03:05 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,521

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure the issue with c-media chips and vista is related to gaming under DX10.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2007, 03:08 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

sswilson has hit the nail on the head. That and everything is done in software on those C-media cards. Sure, they're working, but you might as well be using onboard.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2007, 03:11 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,521

My System Specs

Default

It's a DRM issue.

Drivers will only run if microsoft says they are allowed, and any software based DRM drivers are not going to be given the green light to prevent folks from being able to modify the software to get around DRM.

That's my understanding anywise......
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2007, 01:22 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

My X-Meridian works perfect in Vista. Might aswell use a onboard?
Have you ever heard a X-Meridian? They are quite hard to beat in there price range. For straight head to head test for music and movies the X-Meridian eats X-fi's..yes all of them. You can say the X-fi is better for gaming only becasue of EAX/OpenAL. Not eveybody uses these when gaming.

I think a few guys are misinformed as to EAX under Vista. It isn't gone.
Before we had the Direct sound API to render EAX. Vista does not have the Directsound API. If companies want in game effects they have to go with OpenAL as a API but they can still use that to render EAX effects. I hope I am explaining it right and it make sense. If your a gamer you are probably better of getting a X-fi or perhaps the new Prelude card from Auzentech.
The new card will have the gaming features of the X-fi line up with the phenominal sound quality of the X-Meridian. The X-Meridians are not for everybody because they are pricy and not really meant for gaming but you can game with them
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS X-Fi sound card yycraven Buy/Sell & Trade 6 February 24, 2008 07:50 PM
Razor AC-1 sound card tom.mullie Audio 3 January 22, 2008 07:34 AM
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio is not really a X-FI sound card dirtfarmer Audio 15 January 2, 2008 07:15 PM
New Sound card Inik Audio 4 January 2, 2008 12:41 AM
Which Sound card is better? xPhuong Audio 1 September 14, 2007 06:21 AM