Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 23, 2008, 03:37 AM
Rookie

Default Sound Card for 3D gaming?

I’m new to 3D gaming and now considering a sound card to replace my crappy onboard codec………..
Can’t decide between ASUS Xonar and Creative X-Fi, is the fancy EAX5.0 really supported by so many games? Or 2.0 and Xonar’s DS3D GX will do?

As a matter of fact, I’m a little concerned about Creative’s nasty reputation of driver support….
Old May 23, 2008, 08:46 AM
Allstar

My System Specs

XP or Vista? XP you can consider Creative cards but for Vista I would only consider Asus Xonar or Auzentech.
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Old May 23, 2008, 10:59 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Creative will never get another dollar out of me again, crappy drivers that never seam to get fixxed......... Oh wait they were "fixed" but not by Creative........ then they threaten to sue the coder. Hmmmm

The saga of Daniel K

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Old May 23, 2008, 12:14 PM
MVP
F@H

ahh the creative issue.. stay away from them... i own and want to burn it and pee on the damned card...

go daniel k! u rock

Old May 24, 2008, 03:15 PM
Allstar

Quote:
Originally Posted by IvesKu View Post
I’m new to 3D gaming and now considering a sound card to replace my crappy onboard codec………..