Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2008, 10:19 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default ASUS Xonar issues

OK, I figured this is probably the only place on the WWW I can find the help I need. My ASUS Xonar has performed well the lst 5-6 months. My problem is that ever since I changed to a Phenom platform, I started getting a "Secondary Clock interrupt not received" BSOD when I listen to music. After trying a million things, I tried using the onboard sound of my new motherboard to see what happens. Guess what? No more error. Robscix, any ideas? Anyone else? I am going to be broken hearted to give up my Xonar, but I cannot live with that damn BSOD. I have everything completely updated in my system and the only change that has stopped the BSOS is disabling the Xonar. Any and all suggestions are truly welcome!
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2008, 10:30 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

PS: This happens with both Digital output and analog output. This does NOT happen with my onboard sound digital or analog output. I am at a loss and really don't want to stick to onboard if I can help it.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2008, 08:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default

which Xonar card are you using? what version driver?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2008, 08:50 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Perhaps try change to another PCI or PCIE slot.
It might work.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2008, 05:58 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

I am running the latest drivers, tried all available PCI slots and it does it in 2 different motherboards too. I think the Xonar and the Phenom do not like each other........
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2008, 07:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Are you absolutely sure that your on-board audio is turned off in bios?

How about un-installing the on-board drivers? Maybe they're doing something funky in the background that the Xonar doesn't like.

Have you tried resetting the resource allocation in bios? Could be the on-board is assigned an IRQ that the Xonar needs and it hasn't been released by the on-board even when the on-board is disabled.

Could be any # of things, so perhaps if you listed what you have already tried we can spot something you missed.

It is also possible that the Xonar drivers use an undocumented hardware feature of intel chips which isn't included in AMD chips, but it's been a long time since I saw something like that.... (trying to rip mp3s with my K6 took almost an hour per song while using a similar intel chip was only 5 minutes).
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2008, 07:43 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

Well, I have removed the Xonar and I managed to recreate the failure when I tried to stop aaCenter.exe which is an ASUS process for ACPI. When I swapped in my DFI motherboard, I never took the tile to do a fresh install since Vista can usually handle it. Looks like I may be anyways and if I do I will try my Xonar again since the sound does not compare. I do have to say that I am impressed with how well the onboard does sound though.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2008, 03:05 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

I was gonna suggest making sure all your chipset drivers are up to date and making sure the Xonar card is using the newest drivers. I think you would already be using them. I would think to try the newest BIOS also but you tested on different Mobo's. Perhaps ASUS knows of it and might have a fix did you send them in a ticket?

Last edited by Robscix; May 24, 2008 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2008, 07:26 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Acton, Ontario
Posts: 2,465

My System Specs

Default

Haven't gone that far yet. I'm gonna reinstall it tomorrow and see if it had anything to do with those waywars ACPI tasks that were also causing that crash after I pulled the card. If that doesn't do it I am gonna do a fresh install and if that STILL doesn't fix it I will send ASUS a ticket. Thanks for the input guys.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2008, 08:02 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Keep us posted.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes