Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 03:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 104
Default

your looking for a molex connector, or the floppy. just run wires from the appropriate holes in the molex/floppy and tape/solder them to the sound card. or just extend the floppy wires
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 03:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Default

It's a Dell Inspiron 530. As far as I can tell there are no Molex connectors, if by Molex you mean this sort of connection.

Last question then - where to the extra wires come from? Do I buy a similar wire? Or snip? Or?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 04:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 104
Default

just turn your pc off, hit the power supply button in the back and hit the power on button in the front. will drain remaining power in system. grab the floppy cable, cut it off. leave a few inches or so attached to the plug end. grab some wire, speeker wire or something and add however much wire you need. tape it up and plug it in. make sure wires arnt touching each other/anything else. turn psu back button back on and your ready to go
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2008, 04:35 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,408
Default

Hold on...if there are no Molex cables, how come there is a Floppy connector? On some Dell PSUs there was a connector which looked ALOT like a floppy connector but it wasn't. IMO, you better take a pic of the wires and connectors coming out of that PSU before going ANY further because if you bring the wrong voltages to the card, you are going to fry it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 08:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Default

When you say "was a connector", do you mean a while ago or currently? The system isn't too old - less than a year. I guess I'll take a pic and then post it here.

Edit: Ok, here it is. The white 4-pin does fit the card and the Dell manual says it's a 12V connection. Is that right?


Last edited by scrawledinwax; May 12, 2008 at 08:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 09:13 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,408
Default

Yeah, that's the right connector. +12V, +5V and two ground connectors. It looks like that power supply only has SATA and Floppy connectors which is a major PITA so the way I see it, you have two options: extend the floppy connector or buy a new PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 09:20 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

Buy a new PSU which is compatible with your Dell motherboard. If I'm not mistaken, the main 24 pin Dell PSU connector has a different pin-out.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 09:51 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Buying a new power supply seems excessive - I think I'd rather just return the card.

Last question then - is there a way to snip a SATA power connector and attach the floppy connector to that? Would it be the right voltage etc.? I ask because there's an extra SATA connector right there and if it only involved cutting/stripping/connecting wires and then using some electrical tape, I think I could handle that. 'Course it'd probably prevent me from adding another hard drive (I think) so...
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 10:43 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,408
Default

If you bring the red wire (+5V) and the yellow wire (+12V) plus two Ground wires (black) from a SATA connector (you would leave out the orange wire) you could do it.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2008, 10:46 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,235

My System Specs

Default

From here, I'd suggest your best solution is to extend the floppy. All it would require would be 4 lengths of wire, and 8 crimps/solder. Drop into The Source and tell them what you want to do, they should be able to help you out.

If you know anybody who's more electronically inclined, it's an easy job that wouldn't take more than 15 minutes to do, but if you don't know anybody like that, it's certainly doable.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes