Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 09:42 PM
Mycelus's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Default Removing unused audio devices from sound settings?

How do I remove these devices that just sit in my audio settings panel... Buggin the hell out of me .-.

imgur: the simple image sharer

imgur: the simple image sharer

Thanks in advance for the help guys.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 09:57 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

if onboard sound are the ones shown, need to go in bios setup to turn off audio.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 09:57 PM
Mycelus's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Default

Look at the picture. Those are what's shown.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 10:36 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

try highlite then properties

then selecting what you don't want shown
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 11:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

As said above.. you can just disable them and they will disappear.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2014, 03:15 AM
FrancescoIgnagan's Avatar
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 1

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
try highlite then properties

then selecting what you don't want shown
This is the best option if you want to disable your default audio devices from settings. By doing this you can resolve your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2014, 05:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 100
Default

Just right-click and disable them.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2014, 11:02 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,234

My System Specs

Default

A bit late coming to the game, but be careful what you wish for..... :)

As a cautionary tale, I went through and deleted several of these orphaned audio devices after going through a prolonged series of testing various devices and drivers... to make a long story short, I wasn't paying good enough attention when I deleted something like 20 of the buggers but then discovered that I'd accidentally deleted some of the ones I was planning to use (like the one for HDMI) and had to go through the process of re-installing the drivers.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Options for Xbox 360 audio in Arinoth Audio 7 August 20, 2012 04:12 PM
Anyone Try Asus Sound card MIO-AUDIO 888 Soullessone21 Audio 1 June 15, 2012 05:13 PM
Manage Audio Devices takes a full minutes to open window NineLives O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 April 3, 2011 02:14 PM
Creative Announces Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD and USB Sound Blaster X-Fi HD Audio FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 March 15, 2010 11:10 AM
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio is not really a X-FI sound card dirtfarmer Audio 15 January 2, 2008 07:15 PM