Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 09:41 PM
Mycelus's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Default Got a new Audio-Technica ATR2500, how the hell do I adjust the gain...

Im frustrated as hell. Got a new Audio-Technica ATR2500 USB mic. Has no knob for gain control, no drivers, no software. How do I adjust the gain... it's picking up my case fans, my heater, my dad coughing upstairs.

Im trying to use it for recording YouTube videos but if it's gonna record every little sound then I just wasted all my money. I've googled software for adjusting gain on a mic and magically can't find anything.

How do people adjust the gain on their mics without knobs?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 10:28 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Strange I would think that it would have software at least.
here is a link to the pdf manual for it
http://www.audio-technica.com/cms/re...500_usb_om.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 10:29 PM
Mycelus's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Default

Yeah it says I have to do it through "the recording program."

TeamSpeak nor Open Broadcasting Software has a gain setting... they both pick up the background noise.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 10:58 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 981
Default

Your best bet would be to go into Control Panel, then Sound, Recording tab, and probably disable the Microphone boost to see if that cuts it enough as that adds 10db....or too much as the case may be. You can also change the volume in the Levels (could be named different in Win7 or XP but should not be hard to find).
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 10:59 PM
Mycelus's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Default

There's no microphone boost option... or levels tab... that's the thing...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 11:48 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,964
Default

to check after use the listen tab to turn on play back so you can adjust to liking
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2014, 11:54 PM
Mycelus's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Default

Yes I've done that. Only thing I can do is make it quieter, background noise is still there. Aren't there filters you can buy for mics that remove this stuff completely?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2014, 01:03 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,964
Default

correct it's done with recording software tools

best around was cool edit witch is now adobe audition but way off the chart @$2k to clear up back ground noise
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2014, 07:50 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 646

My System Specs

Default

"gain" and "level" and "volume" are, incorrectly, used interchangeably in a lot of computer interfaces.

It pics up sound only from certain directions. Cardioid mics pick up best in the front of the mic, but pick up almost zero noise from directly behind it. Here is a diagram : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:P...n_cardioid.png

Perhaps you could have the noise pointed away from the mic and it'll help.


A noise filter is electronic, and your mic is usb so it's not a big deal (you don't have to buy a "box" to plug into). Many recording softwares have noise filters, they work like apps. You don't have to pay 2000 dollars, but that software kptn suggests looks awesome. But I think there's a VST plugin for noise supression.

My noise filter was just over 100 bucks and it's a physical box.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2014, 10:43 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

I think that audacity will work and it is free open source, I have played around with it a little bit
Audacity: Free Audio Editor and Recorder
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio-Technica ATH-AD700 Or Sennheiser Hd558 Alpine Audio 14 January 17, 2013 12:22 PM
Where to buy Audio Technica AD-700's? GameOnTurtle Audio 0 June 23, 2010 07:04 PM
Sound Card for Audio Technica AD700's ToN Audio 2 December 1, 2009 01:57 PM
Audio Technica ATH-AD700 Retailers? Goalieman077 Audio 5 October 6, 2009 09:19 PM
Audio-Technica ATH-AD700 headphones Dogger1 Audio 3 March 22, 2009 02:16 AM