Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2013, 07:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Default EVGA X58 3x SLI Realtek built in audio..no 5.1 from games..help please

So, if my research is correct, I cannot get 5.1 audio from this build in realtek card if I use the optical output, only if I use analog. Right?
I was told from a user that he was doing it but I dont see how. Trying to contact him again but I think he was mistaken.

I was getting rid of my x-fi prelude to make space for 3 sli but it looks like this will not be happening now if I cannot get 5.1 from games. I hope someone can help :/
Thanks!

Maybe I can use a HDMI cable from one of my 660tis?

Last edited by shaolin95; September 29, 2013 at 07:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2013, 07:48 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,926

My System Specs

Default

Optical can only output 5.1 audio if the stream is compressed like Dolby Digital (AC3) or DTS. Some onboard audio solutions can encode all audio in to AC3 however I can't find much info about that board.

A 660Ti can output 5.1 audio over HDMI but you'd need a receiver in order to decode it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2013, 07:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Yes that is what I have been finding out as I read now. my receiver does not have analog inputs but luckily it does have hdmi inputs so I guess that is my solution then. :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2013, 09:59 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,923
Default

yes HDMI get current divers from gpu site
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2013, 05:03 AM
10e's Avatar
10e 10e is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 530

My System Specs

Default

If the sound chip on the motherboard supports Dolby Home Theatre Live or DTS Connect, or both, yes you can get 5.1 from games through optical or coaxial TOSlink/SP/DIF cable to an AV receiver, or something like those old Logitech systems with the DD5.1 decoder built in (5570 I think?)

These two technologies auto-magically encoded (through software) multi-channel streams into DD5.1 or DTS. I always liked this because I didn't have to use a bunch of headphone jacks and listen to crap audio back then.

Some Realtek chips did, some did not. I believe the 888, 892, and 898 do, but not 100% sure, since EVGA doesn't make it easy to see which sound chip from Realtek is on there. Some had an issue that the first part of the stream would get slightly cut off because they would switch the receiver to DD 5.1 or DTS only when a sound came through, but this was solved later on.
__________________

Xeven: How about 10^8.450980400142567e-001 -as a possible replacement for "10e"

http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=71732
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test of BIOSTAR Hi-Fi Z77X with improved built-in audio unit effect windwithme CPU's and Motherboards 3 November 8, 2012 08:06 AM
Any difference in Realtek audio from Windows 7 audio??? ExpendableG4M3R Audio 6 July 11, 2012 04:47 AM
Asus Rampage Formula IV Built in audio Chomie Audio 6 June 22, 2012 01:50 PM
built-in audio for motherboards andyhan95 Audio 9 June 22, 2012 01:45 PM
Realtek HD Audio Manager issues rfglass Audio 1 April 5, 2012 10:38 AM