Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2013, 02:29 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 412

My System Specs

Default tv speakers

Have a 7 year old logitech speaker system (need to replace) on my philips 40" tv, it just has a digital coaxial out for audio.

Need something that will control this digital out of my tv with a remote control, want to add a set of harmon kardon soundsticks 3 to it.

The tv I use it to connect all my hdmi outs from computer and cable box. Didn't really want to buy a receiver.

The speakers have either 1/8" headphone jack connection also have a line level out converter cable that came with it.

So I need coaxial digital in and line out (red white) or 3.5 mm out with remote volume control, the speakers are powered already. Computer is not on all the time, sometimes is just the cable box and tv idea.

Wanted to clean the living room up a bit

Last edited by nasrott; July 25, 2013 at 04:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2013, 04:14 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,851
Default

does TV support HDMI, your cable box will decode sound through HDMI

if happy with stereo sound no need for 5.1 amp
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2013, 04:47 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 412

My System Specs

Default

Ya tv has 3 hdmi in"s but if Iused cable box for sound how would I here stuff on computer idea when playing music or movies?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2013, 08:23 AM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

If you'd like help, use the proper terminology and English- if that's not possible post pictures.

"Digital coaxial out" is this really a coax or an optical? 1/4" or 3.5mm?

The basic gist of your post is that you want your tv to switch sources and control volume on a set of amplified speakers?
__________________
I rub and whack and choke and stroke!

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2013, 12:52 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

Why don't you just buy a soundbar instead?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2013, 02:15 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhippWhapp View Post
If you'd like help, use the proper terminology and English- if that's not possible post pictures.

"Digital coaxial out" is this really a coax or an optical? 1/4" or 3.5mm?

The basic gist of your post is that you want your tv to switch sources and control volume on a set of amplified speakers?
or theather sound 5.1
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2013, 03:40 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 412

My System Specs

Default

Whippwapp believe I did use proper English coaxial is like an rca cable but it's a digital connection optical is totally different but same idea a digital connection, ( 1/4" sorry should have said 1/8" headphone jack size, your right whippwapp ...) kinda thought this was the audio section not the english grammar part of the forum.

JD, was trying not to spend too much but may have to go that route if there is not an alternative.
Basically need to replace the logitech controller box but seems this is not so easy to do.
All ready have a set of the corsair 2500 on gaming pc plus now the harmon kardon .

Last edited by nasrott; July 25, 2013 at 04:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2013, 03:47 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 412

My System Specs

Default

And yes I need to control a set of amplified speakers with a remote, could get a fiio d07 but it's has no remote.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2013, 03:53 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 412

My System Specs

Default

Kapt am in an apartment so the 5.1 neighbours freak out, was figuring 2.1 plus wife sees less mess.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2013, 05:38 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,851
Default

JD got it right sound bar
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speakers Which Ones fuzman Audio 3 December 26, 2012 07:12 PM
PC speakers Bl4ck_rainbow Audio 2 December 5, 2011 07:00 AM
[FS] Logitech Z5500 Satellite Speakers *just speakers* Eagle Eye Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 7, 2011 06:44 AM
[WTB] PC speakers Goalieman077 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 October 5, 2009 07:41 PM
In need of speakers Cheator Audio 6 January 8, 2009 12:17 PM