Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2013, 06:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Default Sennheiser PC 350 volume up and down noise

Hi guys,
I'm a bit worried right now. I stop used my Sennheiser PC 350 for 4/5 month and now when I move my volume wheel to near the max volume I ear some noise like the noise of old tv or radio when as interference.
The headphones only have this problem when i'm moving the volume scroll, when I have volume on max (for example) I can't hear any noise, it's only when moving the volume wheel to near the max volume.

So I want to know if this can become worse in the future and if I should send it to warranty to avoid any problem that can degrade the sound quality.

Thank you, Cristiano Rodrigues.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2013, 06:34 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 515

My System Specs

Default

I have the same thing with my 360s, its fine just a crappy dial really. for the price of the headphone they really should not use such a shoddy dial.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2013, 06:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,564

My System Specs

Default

It's just a crappy potentiometer, I even get left/right imbalance when the dial is off centre.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2013, 07:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the reply :D

So by this I think it is normal. There is anything that I can do to stop this noise?
Can a crappy potentiometer/dial influence the sound quality? (when i'm not adjusting the volume and don't hear the noise?)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2013, 08:50 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,485

My System Specs

Default

It shouldn't affect the sound-quality. You can try opening the pot and clean the loose metal filings. If that doesn't work, you can always completely cut out the in-line control, wire together the ends and control the volume with the sound-card and software.

Of course, if it's under warranty then you can always get the unit replaced. The pot will eventually go bad again, however.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2013, 10:46 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 625

My System Specs

Default

The potentiometer is extremely sensitive on these cans and is their biggest downfall. The easy short term solution is to quickly rotate the volume from min to max a bunch of times and be rough with it. This will help get some of the dust and debris out of the pot. The long term solution would be to disassemble and clean the pot with compressed air / electrical contact cleaner.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 06:14 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

Same with my 360s. Just got used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 06:46 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 414

My System Specs

Default

Ya have this on both 350 and 360 not so noticeable on the 360 though but still there. Been like that since got em If I remember right. Nothing to worry about really...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 01:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,614

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
It's just a crappy potentiometer, I even get left/right imbalance when the dial is off centre.
Agree. If its really bad you could try and get some electrical cleaner/contact cleaner in it. Sometimes just cycling them a bunch of times helps as well.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2013, 09:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 109
Default

The pot also affects the sound quality, I bypassed the pot in my PC350's, and they sound a bit more "full"

I was having the issue where the right channel was randomly cutting out completely. Has to be the biggest flaw with the PC350's, I already tore my Sennheiser rep a new one over these things, lol.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
120v outlet filter for noise, such a thing? (popping noise from speakers) On2wheels Troubleshooting 3 June 20, 2010 08:06 PM
LG Dare Volume CroSsFiRe2009 Off Topic 3 September 4, 2009 05:02 AM
Low Mic Volume in Red Alert 3? Thund3rball Audio 0 February 20, 2009 08:36 AM
Volume of fluid... 4DoorGTZ Water Cooling 8 January 19, 2009 09:20 AM
Mic Volume - Sennheiser PC 161 timbruun Audio 0 August 31, 2008 02:21 PM