Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2013, 05:19 PM
concinnity's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

No problem on my 350 SEs, dial is on the can. I'd warranty it if possible, or otherwise chop it out and solder the wires together, throw some heatshrink over it, and be done.
__________________
Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2014, 05:46 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Default

i want to bypass the potentiometer in my pc 350s, i can solder no prob but cant find any info on the wiring. the volume control is really bad, most of the time the left can cuts out and have to find a point where the both work and control volume with software. ive tried cleaning which only slightly improved things.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2017, 01:26 AM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 686

My System Specs

Default

Old thread resurrection, but after cleaning the potentiometer several times it has become sketchy beyond use. Got out the multimeter and figured out where the wires were going.

To fully bypass the potentiometer, just solder together the 4 (of 6) pins on the left of the potentiometer (the three incoming wires will be to the right of the 6 pins). This essentially connects the orange wires and green wire together. They sound great now but are locked at 100% volume.
__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 1080p G-Sync IPS, 16GB DDR4, 1TB Evo 850 SSD, 256GB Toshiba SSD, 2TB Barracuda, BD-Rom/DVD-RW
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2017, 09:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Hey Iím having the same issue as you were, is there any way you could post a picture of the pot you fixed
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2017, 01:37 AM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 686

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaidius View Post
Hey Iím having the same issue as you were, is there any way you could post a picture of the pot you fixed
Sorry, I'm away from home for work for a few weeks and don't have a photo. If you take apart the earcup with the potentiometer and take the PCB out, you'll see that the PCB has 3 wires coming in, 2 wires going out to the right earcup and then there are 6 solder points to the potentiometer. Just have to solder the left two together. (Left if you have the flat side of the PCB down and the round side up)
__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 1080p G-Sync IPS, 16GB DDR4, 1TB Evo 850 SSD, 256GB Toshiba SSD, 2TB Barracuda, BD-Rom/DVD-RW
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2017, 12:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Mine has the pot inline with the cable on the PC 350. Mine are quite old they work great minus this imbalance and scratchy noise thatís comes outta it.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2017, 10:47 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 686

My System Specs

Default

Ah, Guess mine are actually PC360s. A quick google shows that the same solution applies though.

https://www.head-fi.org/threads/modd...406187/page-27
__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 1080p G-Sync IPS, 16GB DDR4, 1TB Evo 850 SSD, 256GB Toshiba SSD, 2TB Barracuda, BD-Rom/DVD-RW
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2017, 08:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Awesome thanks for all your help, Iíll bring em into work! And give it a go thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
120v outlet filter for noise, such a thing? (popping noise from speakers) On2wheels Troubleshooting 3 June 20, 2010 08:06 PM
LG Dare Volume CroSsFiRe2009 Off Topic 3 September 4, 2009 05:02 AM
Low Mic Volume in Red Alert 3? Thund3rball Audio 0 February 20, 2009 09:36 AM
Volume of fluid... 4DoorGTZ Water Cooling 8 January 19, 2009 10:20 AM
Mic Volume - Sennheiser PC 161 timbruun Audio 0 August 31, 2008 02:21 PM