Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2013, 07:51 PM
concinnity's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 132

My System Specs

Question RESOLVED: Xonar DG Not Working

I have installed the latest driver, but I don't get any sound from the card. If I plug into the motherboard audio, I do get sound. Any ideas?
__________________
Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant.

Last edited by concinnity; April 29, 2013 at 12:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 06:46 AM
tianfeng's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 120

My System Specs

Default

Is it windows 8? If so don't install from the setup but open up the windows 8 folder in the install package and install from there.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 07:42 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

I have the same card,when you start computer,do you hear a little "TICK" noise? coming from the card?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 08:26 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,944
Default

win8 find the speaker icon or control panel sound/playback and set Xonar as default
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 09:33 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 700

My System Specs

Default

Lol yeah it's actually the first thing to do.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 09:49 AM
concinnity's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 132

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
win8 find the speaker icon or control panel sound/playback and set Xonar as default
I am running Windows 7. I have a feeling that I do the same thing. Ja?
__________________
Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 09:51 AM
concinnity's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 132

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bliz View Post
I have the same card,when you start computer,do you hear a little "TICK" noise? coming from the card?
I dont hear anything from it...
__________________
Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 05:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

The tick noise is a driver issue, nothing to do with the function of the card - and no it's not supposed to tick. Make sure your new soundcard is set as the default audio device as mentioned above.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Profile Xonar STX Lamb Peripherals 0 October 13, 2011 03:47 PM
Xonar DG right for me? jcmaz Audio 12 April 24, 2011 07:38 PM
ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 stopped working any advice Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 1 July 16, 2009 05:51 PM
Xonar DX JD Audio 1 April 27, 2008 09:54 AM
Xonar D2X Help Bluescreen Audio 3 April 6, 2008 03:10 AM