Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 25, 2012, 08:50 PM
Top Prospect

Default Do I need a soundcard? (My specs are included)

So here is my current system specs (I'm building the machine, it isn't complete yet)

Gigabyte GA-Z77X Mobo
Intel i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz
Mushkin DDR3 PC3 10600 8Gb x4(32Gb)
XFX DoubleD Radeon HD 7970
OCZ Vertex 4 128Gb 2.5 SSD (Operating system and Programs)
WD Red 1Tb 3.5 HD (x2 Raid 1 Mirrored for Data)

So the thing is that I can't decide if I actually need a sound card. I have ALWAYS used onboard sound. I don't use surround sound or anything, but I do game. Typically I just use headphones, but from time to time I will use my speakers (I have pretty plain Insignia speakers with a small subwoofer) for some gaming and to crank up music from time to time while cooking/cleaning/entertaining company.

So what do you think? I have never used a soundcard before, but do I need one? the only reason I ask is that someone gave me crap for putting 2k into my system without bothering to invest in a sound card. I figured for what I do a sound card might actually go to waste, but is the quality really that better or whatever reasons might be usefull for my purposes?
Old October 25, 2012, 08:51 PM
Hall Of Fame

Quote:
Originally Posted by tethlah View Post
So here is my current system specs (I'm building the machine, it isn't complete yet)

Gigabyte GA-Z77X Mobo
Intel i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz
Mushkin DDR3 PC3 10600 8Gb x4(32Gb)
XFX DoubleD Radeon HD 7970
OCZ Vertex 4 128Gb 2.5 SSD (Operating system and Programs)
WD Red 1Tb 3.5 HD (x2 Raid 1 Mirrored for Data)