Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 11:41 AM
Rockfella's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Unhappy Asus Xonar Dx nightmare!

I bought asus xonar DX sound card in may this year and have been facing problems since then. Finally the rear “front” port stopped working so I gave it for RMA. Got a new one couple of days ago and now this new one gives random BSODs and restarts. My PC is usually stable (I rarely experience restarts and BSODs on my PC) But this hardware (xonar DX) is a nightmare! I’ve tried all almost all drivers available including the old one released for vista, the one by Daniel K as well. My configuration is mentioned in my siggy.
Could it be something to do with the mainboard or i got another malfuntioning card?
Personally i wanted to buy the PCI version of this card but geeks strongly suggested me to go with this one as they said PCIx1 has better bandwidth. I think i've made a mistake or i'm getting all the bad batch xonar dxs asus is throwing in my country.
Please help....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 11:53 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

pci vs pci-e for a soundcard will have little benefit. Most people go pci-e simply for the ease.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 12:10 PM
Rockfella's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
pci vs pci-e for a soundcard will have little benefit. Most people go pci-e simply for the ease.
I went PCIe as i thought it'lll make a big difference as data tranfer in pcie is 30-40 times faster? I even did this ...
As you can see even after this mod, the card when fitted on the pci-e is still slightly bent. Could this be the reason why 2 cards seems to fail in my rig?
Attached Images
       
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 12:19 PM
Rockfella's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

I've heard this card works in the PCIX16 slot as well but when i connected mine it the system stuck in bios so i guess it doesnot work in PCIx16 slot.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 12:23 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

I would say the audio card and the motherboard layout isn't going to work out.

That much bend in the card could very well cause the problems you're talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 12:23 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,305

My System Specs

Default

I would uninstall the drivers and then reboot re install, I haven't had any problems with mine when I used to use it

Edit I just noticed your picture there . that is a problem. I thought that you could plug that into a PCIE16 slot
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 12:37 PM
Rockfella's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
I would say the audio card and the motherboard layout isn't going to work out.

That much bend in the card could very well cause the problems you're talking about.
Well the pcb is slightly bent, can it cause so much problem? I'm not negating you but i want a more convincing answer :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I would uninstall the drivers and then reboot re install, I haven't had any problems with mine when I used to use it

Edit I just noticed your picture there . that is a problem. I thought that you could plug that into a PCIE16 slot
I tried plugging it into the PCIx16 slot but it didnot boot, got stuck in BIOS. So what do i do? Upgrade to a new system with a mobo with a better layout or go for the D1 (PCI version?)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 01:16 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

a card with that much bend can cause cracked or broken traces unseen to the eye. personally. you need a shorter card as that is interfering with your ram slots.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 01:19 PM
Rockfella's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
a card with that much bend can cause cracked or broken traces unseen to the eye. personally looks like something is not lined up in general with that case.
There is no good sound card made in this world at this price point (atleast in my country )

Last edited by Rockfella; October 22, 2012 at 08:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2012, 01:24 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

Yes, a bent card can cause your problems. Does your system run fine without the card installed?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will the Asus Xonar DX Fit? Kommie986 Audio 3 October 22, 2012 12:44 PM
ASUS Xonar DS, DG or D1? lkramer Audio 11 August 28, 2012 09:05 AM
Anyone Try the Xonar DGX from Asus Soullessone21 Audio 3 May 16, 2012 04:44 PM
[FS] Asus EAH HD4850 and Asus Xonar DX Cypher^64 Buy/Sell & Trade 12 February 25, 2009 09:14 AM
ASUS Xonar issues b1lk1 Audio 9 May 24, 2008 08:02 PM