Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 10:16 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default Asus Rampage Formula IV Built in audio

Hello,

I am currently trying to figure out the built in audio on the Asus Rampage Formula IV motherboard.

It comes with two Codecs:
-Realtek HD audio Codec w/ Realtek HD Audio Manager
-Sound Blaster X-Fi MB 2

Now I have both of them installed and they seem to be conflicting and I'm assuming this is because there both independent codecs trying to have control over my audio?

Obviously the best solution is to screw on board audio and get a real sound card but I don't feel this is necessary at this time...

Can someone describe the two different codecs and/or tell me which one I should use and the best way to set it up??

Thanks,
Chomie.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 12:03 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 631

My System Specs

Default

Uninstall both and go to ASUS website - driver download for your mobo. Download the newest driver and install it. (Realtek High Definition Audio Driver V6.0.1.6499 for Vista, Win7 32&64bit. (WHQL))

Soundblaster X-Fi is a utility and i wouldn't install it at all.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2012, 09:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Don't use the Realtek driver. Use the X-Fi drivers. You pay for superior audio, use it and find out for yourself. You may need to disable Realtek in your bios.
I don't know anyone who would pay a premium for a MB such as yours to let that X-Fi chip go to waste.

FYI don't listen to anyone who don't use a dedicated audio card. They can't speak for the audio quality. I have a X-fi Titanium Pro Card which is the add in equivalent to Supreme III audio chip on your board and it kicks onboard Realtek to the curb.
A clan member just installed a X-fi Xtreme audio card in his rig. That card is actually far inferior to mine but still above realtek by a touch.

And the X-fi utilities are actually using the Supreme III chip, Creative will never let Realtek use their software. Realtek wouldn't be able to Run EAX and Tru Studio Pro anyhow. So Soundblaster X-Fi is more than just a Utility.

I suggest you find a site like Overclock.net who should have a Rampage Formula IV club, and chat with people who actually can clarify a lot more than someone who doesn't own the board.

***EDIT***

Want help, from users of this board go here:

[Official] ASUS ROG Rampage IV X79 Owner's Club

Last edited by BoganMetal; June 18, 2012 at 09:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2012, 10:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Found the fix.

Feedback on Rampage IV Formula Audio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2012, 08:59 AM
Ravenor's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 171

My System Specs

Default

I have something close to your setup in audio. The difference is that the Realtek is the Hardware on the board with drivers and software that have to be installed to get it to work, and the Sound Blaster X-Fi is a software add-on to expand the functionality of the realtek through software driven enhancements.

You can run with just the Realtek if you want or you can install both and get the benefits from the X-Fi software too.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2012, 05:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

Hello, I went ahead and uninstalled both the driver (realtek) and the utility (soundblaster) then reinstalled the realtek driver from the Asus support download center. The sound is fine for now but it's nothing worth mentioning and should never have been a "key" feature on the Rampage IV Formula Motherboard... I will probably end up buying an add-on sound card. Thanks for all the input!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2012, 01:50 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

YES. The best advice would be to disable the onboard and get a soundcard. You will have better sound in gaming, movies and music. There are many cards in different price ranges so you can always find a card within your budget.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE X79-UD5 vs Asus Rampage IV Formula medwes CPU's and Motherboards 5 April 20, 2012 10:59 AM
Ram for Asus Rampage IV Formula Chomie RAM 5 April 19, 2012 01:21 PM
Asus X79 Rampage IV Formula vs IV Extreme Chomie CPU's and Motherboards 3 April 11, 2012 07:19 PM
[FS] Asus X38 P5E lga775, flashed to Rampage formula Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 1 August 7, 2010 10:36 PM
ASUS Rampage Extreme or ASUS Maximus II Formula AmuseMe CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 20, 2009 09:46 AM