Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 12:03 PM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default What gear/settings do you use for BF3?

Currently I'm running my STX from the headphone out (medium gain) to an external amp (i know, double amping, how naughty) which in turn powers my DT 880 600ohm headphones

Settings I use in Asus control panel

  • 8 Channel
  • 96khz
  • GX on
  • Dolby Headphone on (DH-1 'reference')
And then in-game I have it set to Home Theatre.


However I'm not entirely sure this is the best setup for localizing audio sounds.


What do you guys use?
__________________
Computer: i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz | Asus P8P67 Evo | Corsair LP 16gb 1600CL9 | Silver Arrow | Essence STX | Crucial m4 128gb | Silverstone Raven 3|

Video: 2x R9 290 @ 1050 / 1375 | ASUS VG248QE |

Audio: STX => Audioengine A5 / audio technica AD700X
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 01:15 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bojamijams View Post
Currently I'm running my STX from the headphone out (medium gain) to an external amp (i know, double amping, how naughty) which in turn powers my DT 880 600ohm headphones

Settings I use in Asus control panel

  • 8 Channel
  • 96khz
  • GX on
  • Dolby Headphone on (DH-1 'reference')
And then in-game I have it set to Home Theatre.


However I'm not entirely sure this is the best setup for localizing audio sounds.


What do you guys use?
I use the exact same setup as you except I use Normal Gain

All the enhancements are off
2 Channel
96kHz
In game I have it set on Headphones
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 01:59 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

nuForce 2 USB External audio card to a set of Razer Carcharias headphones. Its an awesome little DAC and has an amazing little amp inside that easly powers anything I throw at it.

I dont really play with the in-game audio settings though, left it on Headphone the whole time. Does BF3 have war tapes? seem to recall that was fun to listen to in BC2.

Probably going to grab a better headset someday, when i can find one thats equally as comfy (cause the Razer is super-crazy comfy) with good deep bass and a very good mic. Somedady.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 04:52 PM
NSdeadly1's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amherst, Nova Scotia
Posts: 238

My System Specs

Default

BF3 does have War Tapes. It sounds awesome
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 05:19 PM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default

war tapes is good for that cinematic effect but I find its not very good for being able to localize audio

Jackquelegs, with your setup, are you able to tell which way you're getting shot from?
__________________
Computer: i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz | Asus P8P67 Evo | Corsair LP 16gb 1600CL9 | Silver Arrow | Essence STX | Crucial m4 128gb | Silverstone Raven 3|

Video: 2x R9 290 @ 1050 / 1375 | ASUS VG248QE |

Audio: STX => Audioengine A5 / audio technica AD700X
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 05:54 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

On my desktop, I use a Forte that powers my HD 595's. Settings = HiFi. Sounds incredible!!

Also, on my laptop, I have a FiiO E10 USB DAC which I got last week. It currently sounds no where near as good as the forte in terms of realism, but I have yet to tweak any settings to fix this.
__________________
Friends don't let friends use onboard video.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 05:56 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bojamijams View Post
war tapes is good for that cinematic effect but I find its not very good for being able to localize audio

Jackquelegs, with your setup, are you able to tell which way you're getting shot from?
Yep! But again I'm very used to tracking sound in stereo from CS
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 07:18 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I run Xonar DG, Headphone Out, Dolby Headphone DH1 outputting to either a pair of Panasonic HTX7 (those retro headphones) or JVC FX67 ear buds.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2012, 08:00 PM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
I run Xonar DG, Headphone Out, Dolby Headphone DH1 outputting to either a pair of Panasonic HTX7 (those retro headphones) or JVC FX67 ear buds.
2channel mode as well?
__________________
Computer: i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz | Asus P8P67 Evo | Corsair LP 16gb 1600CL9 | Silver Arrow | Essence STX | Crucial m4 128gb | Silverstone Raven 3|

Video: 2x R9 290 @ 1050 / 1375 | ASUS VG248QE |

Audio: STX => Audioengine A5 / audio technica AD700X
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2012, 05:25 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

Sennhesier pc360 with a sound blaster titanium HD sound card.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top Gear UK US AUSSIE FIFTH GEAR Etc. Thread _dangtx_ Off Topic 137 August 30, 2011 09:51 PM
[FS] All sorts of gear. Case, water cooling gear and more. Dig in! Lima Buy/Sell & Trade 144 March 23, 2010 08:14 PM
OC Settings jumran Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 September 30, 2009 05:30 PM
Ram settings JupiterTrooper RAM 5 September 16, 2008 05:36 PM