Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 10:24 AM
deinosaur's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
The STX amp isn't necessarily under powered, more like the Schiit Asgard is overpowered to the point of being dangerous.
I am Scared ...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 02:21 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BootlegUsher View Post
So even though the STX advertises being able to drive 600ohm headphones, you are saying its underpowered?
Yes if you decide to put it on High-gain, and crank the nuts off of it. Yes then it is able to make sound come out of my 600ohm DT880s. Is it good sound? no, does it have distortion? yes. Does it just sound absolutely lifeless on high-gain? You bet
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 03:12 PM
deinosaur's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackquelegs View Post
Yes if you decide to put it on High-gain, and crank the nuts off of it. Yes then it is able to make sound come out of my 600ohm DT880s. Is it good sound? no, does it have distortion? yes. Does it just sound absolutely lifeless on high-gain? You bet
yea high gain would be stupid. That is way too loud for the average person. I like my music to be loud but at the same time high in quality so I can enjoy it .
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 03:54 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Headfonia Tips: Keep Your Amps At Low Gain | Headfonia

This is why I keep things at low gain. Just because something is technically capable of doing something doesn't mean I should push the envelope to do it..
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2012, 01:33 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

If you have a set of high end, high impedance headphones you will get the best results by using a high quality external amplifier. You can still use the ST(X) as the source DAC, just use the line outs and feed them to a high end external DAC. You can get reasonable results with some onboard amps depending on the impedance of your headphones but if you have a really good set of cans, best to use an amplifier that is in the same league.

I don't think soundcards are going anywhere. In fact there has been a resurgence in the market in the last few years with new companies offering products. The new blood forces competition which is better for the end users who end up with increasingly higher grade hardware. Even the best onboard is garbage in comparison to what is available in the soundcard market place.

Last edited by Robscix; June 22, 2012 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2012, 03:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Bay ,Ont
Posts: 34
Default

I haven't bought a soundcard in ages,looks like I wont be either.How does the onboard sound of most modern m/b"s compare to my first gen Audigy? I use it in my main pc for gaming .
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2012, 03:49 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Why wouldn't you want great sound for your games?
That A1 is extremely old....
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 08:47 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I'm using the sound from my gtx 590. Optical only outputs dolby, that is a compressed signal. The nvidia sound outputs uncompressed pcm lineal 7.1 via hdmi to my 7.1 home reciever. Sounds great, better than dolby digital.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2012, 09:40 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Well yeah, Dolby Digital is a lossy compression because S/Pdif is a a limited bandwidth connection.
On a side note, there are still limitations in HDMI as you are limited by the quality of the DAC's in the receiver, which on some receiver are less then stellar quality.

Enjoy your system!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linus and Sound Cards jimmyb007 Video Cards 2 January 29, 2012 11:35 AM
USB Sound cards. GT7R Audio 37 April 5, 2011 12:36 PM
Sound Cards and Win7 crispex Troubleshooting 5 June 7, 2009 08:10 AM
Old sound cards better than integrate??? Balfrat Audio 9 March 21, 2009 01:58 AM
Vista64 and sound cards - what's currently better? EventHorizon Audio 3 May 10, 2008 09:18 AM