Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 11:33 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default New build crapping out periodically when gaming

ok I finally have had my new build up and running for about ten days now. what I have installed is the gigabyte 3Daurora case with gigabyte ga-p35-ds3l MB ,coolermaster real power pro 750W, ( which I got from here :) ) and a HIS IceQ3 3870 Vid card, e8400 processor ( ultra 120 extreme heat sink) and finally the ocz pc2-6400 2x1gb ddr2-800 cl5-5-15 ram . ok when I am playing Enemy Territory ( the only game I have that I can play online for testing) I sometimes get a kind of laggy video and but mostly audio stutter/chatter when an air strike of or some extreme audio and video event happens in game, I definately know it isn't a Video issue because my fps never drops below 140 so I am only guessing that it is a lack of a sound card ? I am using the on board sound (which I usually never use) I prefer sound cards well ok I have only ever used sound cards. and if it is an on board sound issue do you think that picking up a Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-FI Xtremegamer Series Sound Card is worth it or do you have any suggestions for a sound card that is decently priced that has support for the front of my case , Mic and headphones ( can't remember what that is called )
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 12:34 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Is the game fully updated to the latest version? I had that problem with that game before patching fixed it all nice n pretty like.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 12:43 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Well I have the newest et pro patch if that is what you are asking
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 12:51 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Is the GPU overclcoked?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 01:03 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

no I haven't touched anything yet I am just running everything stock for now
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 01:15 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried pegging the video card fan speed with Riva Tuner?

The bios on 3870s sucks when it comes to the auto fan speeds.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 02:01 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Do you have newest video drivers?? When I popped in the E3110 into this system the video performance dropped dramatically. I installed the newest video drivers and all is well again.
__________________
heatware

Last edited by stoanee; March 27, 2008 at 03:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 02:33 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

My video drivers are up to date I am not sure of how to use riva tuner ( I am new to this building my own comp and overclocking thing)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 03:26 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Download RivaTuner then open and set as follows...
1...In driver settings hit customize
2...Click on the card icon
3...Change driver level fan control settings to direct control
4...Change appropriate slider control to 100%
5...Check off apply fan settings at startup and click save
6...Hit apply before you exit and viola..your fan will run at 100% for maximum cooling at startup. If you do not like the additional noise you can reset back to default settings.
__________________
heatware

Last edited by stoanee; February 20, 2012 at 10:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2008, 04:15 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
Download RivaTuner then open and set as follows...
1...In driver settings hit customize
2...Click on the card icon
3...Change driver level fan control settings to direct control
4...Change appropriate slider control to 100%
5...Check off apply fan settings at startup and click save
6...Hit apply before you exit and viola..your fan will run at 100% for maximum cooling at startup. If you do not like the additional noise you can reset back to default settings.
ok I my have a different Rivaturner then you because I only have the following 3 things on the main tab
the first just shows the target adapter, the second thing shows the device status bar, and the third thing shows the driver status bar
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes