Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 02:55 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,901

My System Specs

Default want a new sound card.

Well my old sound card X-fi extreme music is still good and all I just want to be able to use a mic. So I was wondering if the http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...reative%20Labs
would be good for my needs. Hope to have it cheap and want good sound and EAX 5.0.

Also what programs do you recommend for speaking with teammates? For example in CS:S. Never used a mic before in games and just got new headphones that came with a mic.

oh and what is the difference from this and this...http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...reative%20Labs
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 03:37 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

The X-Gamer was released by Creative Labs to replace the now discontinued X-fi X-Music. If your still using the X-Music your not going to notice any difference between that card and the X-Gamer. -they all for all intents and purposes the same card.

There is not really that much of a difference between the two cards you linked to. The Fatality has X-Ram..etc. Basically though they will both sound the same, so people have stated.
Why can't you use the mic on your X-Music?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 04:01 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,901

My System Specs

Default

oh never mind the mic works with my sound card.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2008, 05:37 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Yes it does.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 05:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 89
Default

For voice communication programs...Many people use ventrilo and team speak. These require you to have a server to connect to, so they are usually used by clans/guilds. CSS has its own voice com system though.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2008, 06:56 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,901

My System Specs

Default

yeah got CS:S to work. thanks.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes