Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 15, 2012, 05:15 PM
Rookie

My System Specs

Default Fried my soundcard...

Alright so in summary let's just say I totally killed my onboard soundcard. To the point where no audio input will work nor microphone jack.

I need to somehow get this all back and functioning because I cannot live without my precious audio. I just need a simple recommendation. I want to stay under $50 but if I need to go over then so be it. I have a PCIe x4 available and numerous USB ports.

What is something that is decent for more music than gaming? I'm not a music producer and listen to like FLAC files or any of that stuff. I just need something that won't make me want to smash my head against the wall with it's terrible audio quality. I have 5.1 speakers so I would need to be able to have an input for Front, Rear, Center/ Bass, and a Microphone.

Tell me what you have, anything. I just don't want to go buy something based of what looks pretty.
Old January 15, 2012, 05:32 PM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

I like auzentech and they have pci-e versions. You'd be happy with any of them.
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Old January 16, 2012, 11:33 AM
MVP

My System Specs

If you have a PCI slot open I"d recommend this:
AuzenTech X-RAIDER 7.1 Channel Sound Card PCI - AuzenTech - X-Raider 7.1
Bought this for my daughters music. Much better than onboard, only downfall is I have keep telling her to turn it down.
Old January 16, 2012, 12:28 PM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Any of the sub $50 Auzentech or ASUS cards will suffice.
Old January 17, 2012, 11:59 AM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs

Catch the Xonar DX on sale for about 55 and you'll be happy.
Old January 17, 2012, 06:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

or a used audigy 2 for 20$
Old January 20, 2012, 08:17 AM
Top Prospect