Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Audio (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/audio/)
-   -   Fried my soundcard... (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/audio/50504-fried-my-soundcard.html)

JoshOohAh January 15, 2012 06:15 PM

Fried my soundcard...

Alright so in summary let's just say I totally killed my onboard soundcard. To the point where no audio input will work nor microphone jack.

I need to somehow get this all back and functioning because I cannot live without my precious audio. I just need a simple recommendation. I want to stay under $50 but if I need to go over then so be it. I have a PCIe x4 available and numerous USB ports.

What is something that is decent for more music than gaming? I'm not a music producer and listen to like FLAC files or any of that stuff. I just need something that won't make me want to smash my head against the wall with it's terrible audio quality. I have 5.1 speakers so I would need to be able to have an input for Front, Rear, Center/ Bass, and a Microphone.

Tell me what you have, anything. I just don't want to go buy something based of what looks pretty.

clshades January 15, 2012 06:32 PM

I like auzentech and they have pci-e versions. You'd be happy with any of them.

howpet January 16, 2012 12:33 PM

If you have a PCI slot open I"d recommend this:
AuzenTech X-RAIDER 7.1 Channel Sound Card PCI - AuzenTech - X-Raider 7.1
Bought this for my daughters music. Much better than onboard, only downfall is I have keep telling her to turn it down.

YukonTrooper January 16, 2012 01:28 PM

Any of the sub $50 Auzentech or ASUS cards will suffice.

bigFOIG January 17, 2012 12:59 PM

Catch the Xonar DX on sale for about 55 and you'll be happy.

MARSTG January 17, 2012 07:02 PM

or a used audigy 2 for 20$

MittWaffle January 20, 2012 09:17 AM

I have recently bought MANY different sound cards, Auzentech is crap same as creative, except better sound quality...same issues though.