Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2008, 09:31 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elec999 View Post
I will try it to see. The only problem its hard to find quality rca to 3.5mm jack adapters.
Thanks
That is the thing about digital though it is a yes or no type deal with the cable....if the cable was bad quality it wouldn't allow ANY info to get through and no sound...if the cable is good enough to let the digital signal through then your good. Don't fall into the trap of buy expensive monster cables etc...for something like this. Just a waste of money.
You should use 70ohm cables but what I do in a pinch is use the twin RCA to minijack cables and one RCA jack is the signal and the other is nothing...works until you can get a better cable. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2008, 09:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robscix View Post
That is the thing about digital though it is a yes or no type deal with the cable....if the cable was bad quality it wouldn't allow ANY info to get through and no sound...if the cable is good enough to let the digital signal through then your good. Don't fall into the trap of buy expensive monster cables etc...for something like this. Just a waste of money.
You should use 70ohm cables but what I do in a pinch is use the twin RCA to minijack cables and one RCA jack is the signal and the other is nothing...works until you can get a better cable. Good luck.
I ordered my card, and got the monoprice For only $4.40 each when QTY 50+ purchased - PREMIUM 2 RCA Plug/2 RCA Plug M/M 22AWG Cable - 25ft | RCA Audio Cables, my second problem my receiver is a bit far from the computer, will distance also makes a difference. Along is the Belkin 3.5mm to rca and need some good couplers.
Thanks for the great info Robscix
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 05:29 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Distance can make a difference when it is a extreme to the point of downgrading the signal. In a living room though your OK...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 05:46 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

BTW, those will do for now..but you should ty and get yourself a 3.5 minijack to mono RCA connector and a 75ohm SPDIF RCA cable...this is considered optimal. Your other cable will work fine though. Just mentioning it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2008, 06:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 166
Default

[quote=Robscix;43931]BTW, those will do for now..but you should ty and get yourself a 3.5 minijack to mono RCA connector and a 75ohm SPDIF RCA cable...this is considered optimal. Your other cable will work fine though. Just mentioning it.[/quo
3.5 minijack mono?, I dont understand how this will work.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 08:59 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

[quote=elec999;44099]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robscix View Post
BTW, those will do for now..but you should ty and get yourself a 3.5 minijack to mono RCA connector and a 75ohm SPDIF RCA cable...this is considered optimal. Your other cable will work fine though. Just mentioning it.[/quo
3.5 minijack mono?, I dont understand how this will work.
Thanks
No,no, my fault. I deal with many cards on a daily basis and I was thinking about cards that have their digital on a plain 3.5 jack. My mistake. YOu bought the proper cable...single "mono" RCA cable referred to as a SPDIF cable... Enjoy.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 12:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 166
Default

[quote=Robscix;44175]
Quote:
Originally Posted by elec999 View Post

No,no, my fault. I deal with many cards on a daily basis and I was thinking about cards that have their digital on a plain 3.5 jack. My mistake. YOu bought the proper cable...single "mono" RCA cable referred to as a SPDIF cable... Enjoy.
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 05:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 166
Default

I just got my card. My system seems really slow. Is a Athlon xp2600+ with 512ram good enough for this card.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2008, 09:06 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

from the Prelude box:
Basic Requirments
*Genuine intel Pentium III 1GHz, AMD 1GHz CPU or faster
*256 Mb Ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auzen X-Fi Prelude akeela84 Audio 26 February 24, 2008 11:30 AM
Auzen X-fi Prelude Pic! Robscix Audio 53 February 8, 2008 04:10 PM
Auzen X-Fi Prelude Comment thread Robscix Audio 93 December 25, 2007 12:44 AM
Auzentech X-Fi Prelude richuwo11 Audio 10 September 29, 2007 07:30 PM