Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2011, 03:20 PM
ultraman7k's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 527

My System Specs

Default X-Fi Titanium HD question

So I'm thinking of upgrading from my Audigy LS (PCI) card due to some strange conflict with my wireless card that I just cannot seem to solve.

Judging by reviews, the new x-fi seems like a good way to go. If I had a sound card in the past it has always been by Creative. I understand that they have sort of gone down the crapper in the last few years, but from what I understand the new x-fi is built for Vista/7.

Anyways, I was having a look at my new Motherboard (ASUS P8Z68-V) and I couldn't help but notice that while it does have a PCI-E x1 slot, unlike previous motherboards this X1 slot is, for lack of a better term full length, as if it was made for a GPU. Previous mobo's have always had that tiny PCI-E connector.

So, going about it the long winded ways, if I buy this new PCI-E sound card, will it sit correctly in the elongated slot?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2011, 03:41 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,686

My System Specs

Default

Yes. You'll have a large empty space in the slot behind the card, but you can certainly use it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 9, 2011, 11:17 PM
ultraman7k's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 527

My System Specs

Default

ok so i recently switched to onboard sound because my old sound card was causing problems and getting interference from my wireless card.

Admittidly, it sounds pretty decent. Much better than I thought.

Now I can only wonder if upgrading to X-fi Titanium HD is worth it...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2011, 06:21 AM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,069

My System Specs

Default

Keep in mind that the HD does NOT have 5.1 analog. Digital surround only.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2011, 01:56 PM
ultraman7k's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 527

My System Specs

Default

well i only use 2.1 so should be fine right? an improvement over onboard?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2011, 04:19 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

What speakers are you using them with?

Also don't worry about what Slik said. Doesn't really apply to you
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2011, 05:10 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackquelegs View Post
What speakers are you using them with?

Also don't worry about what Slik said. Doesn't really apply to you
LOL

Yes it definately depends what speakers you are using if you are thinking of buying a new soundcard. You don't really want to spend alot of money on a soundcard if your speakers can't really use it to it's potential. Although, even on shit speakers I can usually tell the differnce beten onbaord and dedicated sound card if it's decent card.

FYI you can use any PCI-express card with a lower number than the slot you're putting it in, if you know what I mean ;) And by that I mean x8 can go into x16, x4 can go into x8, x1 can go into x4, etc. As long as the number is the same or lower.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2011, 05:16 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slik View Post
Keep in mind that the HD does NOT have 5.1 analog. Digital surround only.
If you have decent onboard sound that supports things like Dolby Digital Live etc... and choose to go the digital route by connecting via Spdif to a receiver, the 200 dollar sound card would do exactly the same thing right? 1's and 0's will always be 1's and 0's right? The difference is if you try to connect via analogue correct?

Secondary question, I have a Auzen Home Theatre HD soundcard right now. If I went with surround sound it would be better to connect via analogue since my high end soundcard does a better job of it than the DAC on a standard receiver, right?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2011, 09:03 PM
ultraman7k's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 527

My System Specs

Default

actually using Logitech Z-2300's right now, i know people complain about its mid range or whatever but TBH, they suit me just fine.

Since switching to on-board, I have to say I quite enjoy it, so mayhaps I get more enjoyment out of a sound card? Who knows.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2011, 09:12 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

Look into the ASUS Xonar DX. It's great value, cheaper than the titanium, sound quality is close, but with your speakers you won't notice the difference between the two..

This will get you better sound than onboard at a decent price. Use the money saved to invest in some nice headphones or something.

ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 Channel PCI-E Sound Card 24BIT Dolby Digital 116DB SNR W/ Low Profile Bracket - DirectCanada
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zalman ZM-RC1000 Titanium, No more Titanium for you MOD. blueweb Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 5 May 22, 2010 01:14 AM
Zalman ZM-RC1000 Titanium, No more Titanium for you MOD. blueweb RAM 0 May 7, 2010 05:07 PM
[FS] Mush's FS Thread: X-Fi Titanium Mush Buy/Sell & Trade 7 August 23, 2009 10:13 PM
FS: Xfi Titanium Pro Dr_BenD_over Buy/Sell & Trade 5 October 3, 2008 09:05 AM
Auzentech Prelude Vs X-Fi Titanium TuX Audio 11 August 4, 2008 09:14 AM