Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2008, 05:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: st-cyrille de wendover
Posts: 64
Default

just to let you all know that i have received my z-5500 and i was surprise by the sub, damn this thing is big. I still need to find how to make 5.1 speakers work for music (not only movies and games).
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2008, 12:49 PM
low351's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 200

My System Specs

Default

Yah I convinced my father-in-law to buy that system as well and I was freaked by the size of the Sub, it's even bigger than the Z-680s. He's been using it as a poor mans surround with his DVD player/TV for more than a year now and still loves them. Shame I can't get him to trade me, the controller on the 5500 has better options for switching between inputs... Speaking of which.

It depends on how you have them hooked up. If you are using the 3 RCA 3.5mm connectors or 6-channel direct input as Logitec puts it then you can simply change the "Effect" to dobly PRO logic II Music mode. If you are using the Coax or Optical hookup though you'll need to make the adjustment at your sound card, it may have a speaker "Fill" mode or something equivalent. I used to keep both the coax and RCA connectors on and I'd only switch to digital when watching a movie or gaming.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2008, 02:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: st-cyrille de wendover
Posts: 64
Default

you just gave me the idea to keep the rca connectors. I've received the auzentech x-plosion and i got an optical cable with it. I've plugged it but i hate the fact that its off until a sound i made on my comp. So if i dont have my music on i don't hear all the sound of my vista.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2008, 03:33 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

If the X-Plosion has replaceable opamps which I am pretty sure it does you can upgrade your sound again for about $20 that would by you about 4 LM4562's. As for 5.1 music from stereo source you need to UPMIX it. Either by using the player, the card or the speakers. Good Luck.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2008, 04:03 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: st-cyrille de wendover
Posts: 64
Default

i know the card is set to 5.1, and working great with movies and games so i,m assuming the speakers are set properly. For my music i'm using windows media player and i can't find where to make the sound go 5.1.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2008, 06:01 PM
low351's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 200

My System Specs

Default

It would be in the sound driver for your audio card. UPMIX or FILL or 3D whatever marketing called it for your card.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 07:47 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: st-cyrille de wendover
Posts: 64
Default

Someone can help me find a way to keep my music on when i open WoW. Because each time i want to play, my music turn off. Can i do a mix of in-games sound and my music?
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2008, 08:13 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djnocide View Post
Someone can help me find a way to keep my music on when i open WoW. Because each time i want to play, my music turn off. Can i do a mix of in-games sound and my music?
Hmm, Usually you can mix the two together. Maybe the game is taking over Direct Sound. So perhaps a Wave output plugin for Winamp might do the trick?
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2008, 11:55 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: st-cyrille de wendover
Posts: 64
Default

I just found how to get my music on surround, its in effect and more options. I'm not sure i understand what you just said rob. Can you explain?
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2008, 01:54 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

OK, well you said you wanted to be able to listen to music while gaming right? You can probably do that using Winamp and the wav out plugin.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD 4870 X2, ect info. belgolas Rumor Mill 28 June 29, 2008 08:54 AM
Auzen X-Tension HDMI 1.3 Info Robscix Audio 11 February 12, 2008 08:21 AM