Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 01:46 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,101

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
What signal does your receiver report receiving from your pc?

I get full 5.1 playback on my htpc connected to my receiver via HDMI however i will look at the settings to see if there was anything extra i had to do

Here are my settings for XBMC
System > Settings > Audio output
audio output - HDMI (for me)
Speaker Configuration - 5.1 (manually set it to that)
Dolby Digital capable receiver - enabled (mine is)
DTS capable receiver - enabled (mine is)
Audio output Device - WASAPI: ATI HDMI Output (what the pc primary audio output to xbmc)

For my PC connected via optical from onboard
Sound -> Digital Audio -> Supported Formats
DTs audio - enabled
Dolby Digital - enabled
If you are using this and even your music is coming out of all of your speakers then you receiver is what is doing the upmixing.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 01:55 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
If you are using this and even your music is coming out of all of your speakers then you receiver is what is doing the upmixing.
Yes however there is NO software on my pc side doing this is what i'm also trying to get it. I have for this and my past receiver just hooked it up the optical cable from my pc to my receivers and i get 5.1 audio out for anything i playback with no additional drivers installed ontop of windows default audio drivers.

Remember i have two different PCs hooked up to my receiver. When i refer to PC i am only talking about my optical from my main rig to my receiver. HTPC is well my htpc through hdmi.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 02:55 PM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Well i kinda expected to get what Arinoth had. So my two options are swapping sound card from my main to htpc or go with hdmi, which would make more sense although i'll have to get rid of my gpu..
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 02:55 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,987

My System Specs

Default

You have a forte available? Use that, turn on X-Fi CMSS 3-D and obviously set to 5.1.. it'll upscale to 5.1, does a pretty good job also.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2011, 03:11 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,101

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Yes however there is NO software on my pc side doing this is what i'm also trying to get it. I have for this and my past receiver just hooked it up the optical cable from my pc to my receivers and i get 5.1 audio out for anything i playback with no additional drivers installed ontop of windows default audio drivers.

Remember i have two different PCs hooked up to my receiver. When i refer to PC i am only talking about my optical from my main rig to my receiver. HTPC is well my htpc through hdmi.
Then it is definitely the receiver has some sort of DSP enabled.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTheEnchanter View Post
Well i kinda expected to get what Arinoth had. So my two options are swapping sound card from my main to htpc or go with hdmi, which would make more sense although i'll have to get rid of my gpu..
Use the receiver to upmix the 2 channel soundtracks to 5.1. It will do a better job than most soundcards.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2011, 09:29 AM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Might be my lack of experience with receivers, but i have no clue how to do that, even after exploring the options it has.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2011, 11:53 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,101

My System Specs

Default

You want to enable Pro Logic IIx if at all possible.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2011, 04:11 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,101

My System Specs

Default

You could try Speaker fill found in Control Panel\Sound. As long as your soundcard/chipset supports encoding of AC3, this may be a viable solution.

__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2011, 08:03 PM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

But that means using speaker output and therefore no optical or hdmi?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2011, 08:36 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,101

My System Specs

Default

Is there no option like that under optical?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5.0 surround speakers for PC? Lima Audio 5 September 27, 2010 09:31 AM
Vaporx 4890 and 7.1 surround FreeKnight Audio 5 January 31, 2010 12:23 PM
Audio Problem jcmaz Audio 3 July 27, 2009 07:34 PM
750i FTW Onboard Audio Problem kragnorok Audio 2 February 8, 2009 09:36 PM