Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 10:48 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default Anyone here connect PC speakers to a television before?

Hey all;

I am not happy with the sound on my new TV, and would like to find a simple, relatively cheap, upgrade. I don't need surround, nor a Blu-ray or DVD player.

I plan on connecting a set of Edifier S330D 2.1 speaker set (Edifier S330D Multimedia Speaker) ,

to a Panasonic Viera Plasma TV (Model TCP42U2, Panasonic 42" 1080p Plasma HDTV** (TCP42U2) : 40" - 49" Plasma TVs - Future Shop)

The speakers have optical input, and the tv has optical output.

I have my Rogers digital box, and my PS3 connected to the television via HDMI.

My questions are:

a) Will the sound get passed along from my PS3 and Rogers box to the speakers by the television (ie. will I have to mess with connections when switching inputs)? Right now, the PS3 and Cable audio play through the TV speakers, and I simply want the upgraded speakers to take the place of the tv ones.

b)Is there anything else I need to consider? Another solution for about $100-150?

Thanks!
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 11:26 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

a) Yes it should

That actually looks like it would be a decent cost effective setup. If I ever have any money I should pick up a set of those to replace my 1960-70's 8 track setup.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell

Last edited by Dr_BenD_over; December 30, 2010 at 11:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 06:04 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Does not seem to work the way I wanted.

I still have to control the volume with the speaker's wired volume control. Even though the volume is passed through the television's optical out, the television's volume control does not change the volume. The only option I see in the television's sound section is to turn the television's speakers on or off, and these settings do not seem to influence the optical out sound at all.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 06:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,227

My System Specs

Default

What about the analog input? I have an equally cheap setup where my TV is connected to a mini system through an "RCA" to 3.5mm stereo jack connector.
My TV gives me the option to have the analog output either "Fixed" or "Variable" which allows the TV to control the volume. Note that I don't use that feature because I got my remote to talk to the mini system, but I played around with it and it works. I don't have any audio equipment with digital in to try though.

Edit:
My TV LG 32" 1080p LCD HDTV (32LD400) : 30" - 39" LCD TVs - Future Shop
Sound system is some cheap Sony 3-disc changer mini system that's easily outperformed by my 6 year old Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers...
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]

Last edited by frontier204; December 30, 2010 at 06:35 PM. Reason: TV type
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 06:51 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Thanks frontier.

Unfortunately, the only audio output on the TV is the digital optical, and the TV only gives me the option to turn the TV speakers on or off. When I turn the TV speakers off, and I try to adjust the volume, the TV tells me "Speakers Off" and nothing happens. If I turn the TV speakers on, I can only adjust the television speakers.

Its a Panasonic, and has the Viera link stuff, but there is nothing in there that I can see that allows the television itself to adjust the optical output through the television.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 07:54 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,118

My System Specs

Default

IIRC, the Digital out on most TV's is at a set level, as it's meant to run to a receiver which will have it's own separate volume control.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Logitech Z5500 Satellite Speakers *just speakers* Eagle Eye Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 7, 2011 07:44 AM
Computer Monitor vs Television PuB_Evo Display Units 10 February 25, 2010 10:09 AM
How to connect my TV to my PC wirelessy? Crownregent HTPC Systems & Software 1 December 8, 2009 01:10 PM
halo 1; can't connect CTA Gaming 0 November 9, 2008 11:45 PM