Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 01:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Are the replacement "needles" easy to get your hands on SG?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 01:22 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Cartridges use the same attachment features; finding a replacement one should not be a problem.
Also, if Cam sees this, I'm sure he'll chime in about new RCA turntables.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 01:23 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

Yeah unfortunately we're about 16 hour drive separated and i want to try to make it a surprised gift for my dad for his birthday/christmas
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 01:37 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Are the replacement "needles" easy to get your hands on SG?
I have no idea about the replacement needles, I dont use it much a few times when company is over it is nice to throw on a vinyl or after a few but other than that I tend to use my PC for tunes or my gettho blaster when outside rather than the house stereo. IIRC needles were fairly standard I know before I had my Yamaha that both my old Sony's had the same needle PS-11 and IDK the older model. 99% of what I have on vinyl I have on hdd so it was/is a luxury item that hardly gets used but when it does works fine sound is good as expected.

I will say the cables are kinda short, only about 24 inches I have mine on the top of my stand and the AMP sits lower in the cabinet the cables reach but not by much so if you are going to have any sort of distance from your amp make sure you have extenders.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 02:38 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

That should be plenty length seeing as they keep all of their stuff (cd player, cassette player, not working turntable) and the receiver all in a stand that has them essentially one ontop of each other. The sony one looking like the best buy then?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 02:57 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
That should be plenty length seeing as they keep all of their stuff (cd player, cassette player, not working turntable) and the receiver all in a stand that has them essentially one ontop of each other. The sony one looking like the best buy then?
One thing to note the build quality isnt top of the line, dont get me wrong but it is definitely lighter and "flimsier" than any of my "older" turntables but that might just be because of the times. I have phono hook ups on my AMP but yeah way easier since it is one less wire and most modern AMP don't have the input, I have it hooked into AUX1 though.
Another thing is I believe Sony has discontinued this model so I wouldn't pay top dollar for it anymore. I payed around 150 with tax at a local audio shop. I didnt want to spend more since I dont use it that much.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 03:12 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

What do you think of the competing NEXXTECH one the source has on sale for a considerably reduced price right now?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2010, 10:23 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

My only gripe with the sony one is the lower reviews its gotten versus the nexxtech one. I doubt they'll ever hook it up to their PC
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 07:49 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, but I'd take SG's first hand recommendation over web reviews any day. IIRC, most of the complaints about the sony were WRT the PC functionality (software).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 05:39 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,591

My System Specs

Default

Sorry to interrupt, is this some kind of encoded chat for the Mods and ex-mods?
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestion on New Receiver Arinoth HTPC Systems & Software 11 December 14, 2009 08:39 AM
Need suggestion for OC romeodelanoche Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 November 6, 2008 08:48 AM
Suggestion qwerty Suggestions & Feedback 5 October 16, 2007 03:22 PM
ION iTTUSB 10 USB Turntable Reviewed @ Everything USB Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 4 August 29, 2007 06:11 PM