Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2010, 05:34 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heflys20 View Post
Those Harmon's are interesting, folks have also been pointing me towards Promedia 2.1 and the HiVi Swan M10......I was looking at Logitech, but folks keep saying they're garbage.
home theather Amp using fiber optic (tosi) or digital output , forget the rest
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2010, 05:38 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,983

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
home theather Amp using fiber optic (tosi) or digital output , forget the rest
Not nessessarily. There is nothing wrong w/ a good pair of amped speakers like the Swans M10's he was looking at or a pair of Audioengines. And if he is looking at a soundcard he more than likely doesn't want to use SPDIF.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2010, 09:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
logitech are just fine unless your an audio nut. i love my z5500 not as good as the kef's but still great unit. justmy2cents
Well, in my current setup, a 5.1 would probably be a waste of money. Also, I've heard some pretty bad things about logitech speakers. They seem to have better bass, but the mids are described as being "poor." For, instance I keep hearing how the Promedia 2.1 wipes the floor with the z-2300.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
home theather Amp using fiber optic (tosi) or digital output , forget the rest
That'll probably be a bit out of my budget, since I'm looking to upgrade other things on my computer.

Last edited by heflys20; November 28, 2010 at 10:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2010, 09:31 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heflys20 View Post
Well, in my current setup, a 5.1 would probably be a waste of money. Also, I've heard some pretty bad things about logitech speakers. They seem to have better base, but the mids are described as being "poor." For, instance I keep hearing how the Promedia 2.1 whipes the floor with the z-2300
Those are kind words. More exact would be, they seem to have muddy and bloomy bass, and the mids are recessed to bits
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2010, 10:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 135
Default

I'm really trying to decide if I should keep the Athlon 620 I'm currently using, or upgrade to a Phenom 965 or 955, since that could affect my budget. I wonder if there is that much of a difference........I guess I'm a bit lazy when it comes to OC.'
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2010, 10:58 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heflys20 View Post
I'm really trying to decide if I should keep the Athlon 620 I'm currently using, or upgrade to a Phenom 965 or 955, since that could affect my budget. I wonder if there is that much of a difference........I guess I'm a bit lazy when it comes to OC.'
Personally I would keep the 620 as it is a very capable CPU. I found that CPU upgrades are usually the least noticeable unless you're going from a C2D to an i7
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2010, 11:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackquelegs View Post
Personally I would keep the 620 as it is a very capable CPU. I found that CPU upgrades are usually the least noticeable unless you're going from a C2D to an i7
True.....It's just that I see the 965 (for instance) out performing an Athlon 645 (3.1 ghz) in some games by 10 FPS. Plus, I game a lot. Case in point:

Bench - CPU - AnandTech :: Your Source for Hardware Analysis and News

But if there really isn't that much of a difference, I guess I could do without a new processor and just focus on the sound.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 12:03 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,500

My System Specs

Default

Go for a new processor over a new sound-card. Sometimes processor upgrades are not worth it, especially if you OC, but going from an Athlon to a Phenom II is a substantial performance increase in terms of gaming.

And, dude, just learn to friggin' overclock. It's the best thing you can do. It would even potentially nullify a processor upgrade.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 12:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 135
Default

I know how to overclock, it's just (in terms of stability, voltage and cooling) I'd rather deal with the simplicity of the Phenom.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 08:14 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heflys20 View Post
True.....It's just that I see the 965 (for instance) out performing an Athlon 645 (3.1 ghz) in some games by 10 FPS. Plus, I game a lot. Case in point:

Bench - CPU - AnandTech :: Your Source for Hardware Analysis and News

But if there really isn't that much of a difference, I guess I could do without a new processor and just focus on the sound.
Yeah but that 10 fps doesn't make the game unplayable. There's a point where going from enough to overkill that makes CPU upgrading just plain dumb.
Problem comes down to what GPU and what resolution you game at. If you have a mid range card, then there's absolutely no point upgrading your. If you own a high end card, then you shouldn't have cheaped out on the CPU in the first place
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking of getting a new monitor after I get my new gfx card grifter11 Display Units 3 November 1, 2010 12:01 AM
hooked up tv sound out to sound card in but I don't hear the TV Shadowmeph Audio 1 September 18, 2009 10:41 AM
Worth it to buy a sound card or will MOBO sound be enough? Sandro_Bit CPU's and Motherboards 18 August 22, 2009 09:44 AM
Thinking of next vid card biff Video Cards 14 December 2, 2008 08:24 PM
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio is not really a X-FI sound card dirtfarmer Audio 15 January 2, 2008 07:15 PM