Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Audio

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 09:29 AM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 310

My System Specs

Post PC audio imput from monitor

Hello. I am currently in a bind and kind of overwhelmed at how to go about obtaining sound from my console (360) going HDMI into the monitor I ordered, and then monitor into the pc. Basically what I am saying is, that I have a Wireless USB PC gaming headset, which cannot be used on the 360 USB obviously, and the monitor I am getting, does not have a USB hub on it, but it has a PC Audio Input: 3.5mm Mini-jack on it. (See Below)
http://img693.imageshack.us/img693/313/imputs.jpg


I am just wondering if its as simple as using a 3.5 male to 3.5 male in the PC Audio Imput on the monitor, into the Line In on my mobo? Using say this. (See Below)
Buy the Cables To Go 6-Foot Stereo Audio Cable at TigerDirect.ca


This is the monitor by the way also. The ASUS VE278Q LED LCD (See Below)
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Display - ASUS VE278Q


Thank you for your help!
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 10:25 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,038

My System Specs

Default

No that will not work. That is an audio input not an output. If you were to run a 3.5mm cable from the output on your motherboard/soundcard to the input you would get sound on the speakers built in to the display. According to the monitor specs it can accept audio over HDMI, but it doesn't say what supported formats. Either way it likely would just be outputted on the monitor's speakers.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 02:19 PM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 310

My System Specs

Default

So if it were audio output, would all that stuff be right? Technically would the monitor sound that comes from the Xbox 360 (HDMI) be going into the PC then? Is that the proper cable? And is Line-In the right port to plug it into if it is?

Thanks again for the help!
__________________




Last edited by Apathetik; October 10, 2010 at 02:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 02:40 PM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 310

My System Specs

Default

Like this one for example has audio out. Could audio out also be called or listed as something else? Like line out or something too?

NCIX.com - Buy BenQ E2420HD 24IN 16:9 Widescreen Black LCD Monitor 2MS 50000:1 1920X1080 2XHDMI DVI VGA 4XUSB Hub - E2420HD In Canada.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 03:02 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,038

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apathetik View Post
Like this one for example has audio out. Could audio out also be called or listed as something else? Like line out or something too?

NCIX.com - Buy BenQ E2420HD 24IN 16:9 Widescreen Black LCD Monitor 2MS 50000:1 1920X1080 2XHDMI DVI VGA 4XUSB Hub - E2420HD In Canada.
As far as I know this should work. But I've never actually used HDMI audio to a monitor before.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 03:39 PM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 310

My System Specs

Default

Okee cool thanks!
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2010, 04:16 PM
Jackquelegs's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

I have the setup you WANT. It sucks

The audio through a monitor, trust me, isn't the best quality. Therefore, I use my xb360 HDMI to my LCD, then use optical out from the xbox into my Auzentech Prelude SPIDF in, then use my computer as a passthrough
__________________
Iapetos
Intel Core i7 930 D0 4.2ghz, Corsair XMS3 6X2GB DDR3-1600 CL 8-8-8-24, Xfire HD5870, Intel X-25M 34nm 80gb, Enermax Revolution85+ 1050W, Xonar D2X

Zephyranthes
E8400 4.0ghz, XFX 780i, Mushkin XP2 PC-6400, Antec Earthwatts 750W

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC'97 and HD AUDIO p3dro Troubleshooting 4 February 25, 2009 09:02 AM
Server and audio Elite Networking 4 January 6, 2009 10:43 PM
Audio Question BALISTX Audio 5 October 26, 2008 05:22 PM
Help with tv to pc audio overlords Audio 13 July 14, 2008 09:15 PM
no audio mo' power Audio 8 February 9, 2007 08:07 PM